DSC System Sanity Check & Wireless Motion Sensors

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-03-16, 01:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DSC System Sanity Check & Wireless Motion Sensors

Hello All,

Can you please review below to verify that I am getting the right components for my house?

I have a two story house. All the windows and doors have hard wired sensors and all wires terminate in a closet. Currently there is an Ranger American Security system in place which I will throw away. I have already zoned my house the way I wanted so I will need total 13 hardware zones excluding any motion sensors (there is no motion sensors in the house).

My Objectives:
- Two kaypads, one garage entry and one in bedroom.
- Internet access to arm and disarm remotly via PowerSeries Neo Go App (IOS).
- Being able to use all hard wired sensors in the house.

Question 1:
Would following components accomlish my objectives above?
HS2016 (Board / 6 Zones)
HSM2108 (8 Zone Expansion Card)
TL280NA (Ethernet Communicator)
HS2TCHP (Touchscreen Keypad)
HS2LCD (Regular Keypad)

Question 2:
There is already a siren installed by Ranger American in the house, can I use it with the above system or do I need to buy a new one?

Question 3:
I want to add three motion sensors. Would wiresless sensors work with the system above?

Thank you all in advance,
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-05-16, 02:37 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,173
Received 27 Votes on 26 Posts
Hardwire to hardwire is a straight up swap. The siren is a standard 12v device, and will work on the replacement system. You have to add a wireless receiver to the system (either standalone or a RF model keypad) to add wireless devices.

The internet communicator does require connection to a central station account, to do you any good.

System manual: http://cms.dsc.com/download.php?t=1&id=24027
Communicator manual: http://cms.dsc.com/download.php?t=1&id=23358
 
  #3  
Old 10-05-16, 07:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Makes sense. Thanks for the answer. When you say a central station, are you talking about a service (like https://www.alarm.com/) that provides the monitoring? Is there a way to do that without a montly fee?
 
  #4  
Old 10-05-16, 08:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Following should accomplish what I am trying to do then.

HS2016 (Board / 8 Zones)
HSM2108 (8 Zone Expansion Card)
TL280NA (Ethernet Communicator)
HS2TCHP (Touchscreen Keypad)
RFK5564 (Wireless Keypad)
MPT (Mini Proxy Tag)
3 x WS4904P (Motion Detector)
 
  #5  
Old 10-05-16, 02:11 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,173
Received 27 Votes on 26 Posts
No, monitoring accounts always have a fee. There is not a way to emulate the type of IP based alarm receiver that the communicator is designed to connect to.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: