GE ITI Simon 2 replacement battery

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-21-16, 07:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GE ITI Simon 2 replacement battery

Hi, I bought a older GE Simon 2 security system for my home and I'm wondering where you can find a replacement battery pack for the system?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-21-16, 09:54 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,580
Received 336 Votes on 314 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

It can be a little tough keeping the Simon (ITI) panels separated. It looks like your panel could use the 9v or the pack. If you have the actual pack in your system then you want the ITI 34-051.

You can search using that part number. Many places sell that battery pack.
amazon/34051-battery

Name:  simon.jpg
Views: 319
Size:  18.3 KB
 
  #3  
Old 10-21-16, 06:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi, thank you very much. I was searching around for this and this is perfect, but if the current battery pack has issues can I just easily switch to a 9V battery?
 
  #4  
Old 10-21-16, 07:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also, is the GE Simon 2 Security System still a good to use today? Even though its old?
 
  #5  
Old 10-21-16, 07:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,580
Received 336 Votes on 314 Posts
I still see them in use today.

If you currently have the multi cell pack in there...stay with it.
Otherwise the panel will need a program change.
 
  #6  
Old 10-21-16, 07:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, I know how to do the program change. I don't have a monitoring service at all. I have the installers guide. Its easy to do it all you just have to do is turn off Option 49 (rechargeable Battery)
 
  #7  
Old 10-21-16, 07:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
After you turn off Option 49, I think you power cycle the panel and it should let you use the 9V connectors. But, your right. The rechargeable ones are a bit better anyways.
 
  #8  
Old 10-21-16, 09:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,580
Received 336 Votes on 314 Posts
I was looking into the 9v battery. It says 9v 1.2Ah UltraLife lithium battery.
Good for 24 hours of operation. Not bad.
 
  #9  
Old 10-21-16, 10:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's actually not bad at all. Does it have to be that specific brand? Or can I use a Duracell 9v in stead?t
 
  #10  
Old 10-21-16, 10:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,580
Received 336 Votes on 314 Posts
It looks like the Duracell Ultra Lithium can also be used.

From what I can see.... standard 9v lithium batteries are 600mah. and ultra lithium cells are 1.2ah.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: