Remote monitoring options available ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-23-16, 03:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Remote monitoring options available ?

I have an ADT Home security system, branded by ADT as a Safewatch Pro 3000 EN. The guts appear to be a Honeywell/Ademco 5881EN Wireless Receiver.

I would like to accomplish the following, if at all possible:

1) Replace ADT monitoring from the equation
2) Keep my existing sensors
3) Add additional Sensors, including IP cameras, maybe something that works with Insteon
4) Migrate to a CDMA/WiFi dual coverage model
5) Save some money on monitoring

Is this possible? I was looking at SimpliSafe, but I'm told they appear to have a security flaw that they a) have not addressed, and b) hopes nobody notices, apparently.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-23-16, 04:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,425
Upvotes Received: 213
Welcome to the forums.

Are you still an ADT subscriber ?

Then don't just allow you to float away. If you've signed a contract you are obligated to fulfill it.
Their usual policy is to lien the house until the contract is complete.

SimpliSafe is a very basic homeowner installed "alarm."
Certainly not something I'd personally consider.
 
  #3  
Old 10-23-16, 06:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 2
I am not under any contractual obligation. I can quit them at any time. My contract expired years ago. I just do not wish to keep sending them money, and I'd like to reuse my existing sensors, if possible.

I'm not considering SimpliSafe., but I like the concept.
 
  #4  
Old 10-24-16, 04:19 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,090
Upvotes Received: 21
Your system is a slightly modified Vista 20p. Unless they used the installer lockout function (not typically done), you can easily disable the communicator and remote programming access. This is a frequent topic in this forum.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...e-posting.html
 
  #5  
Old 10-25-16, 05:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 223
What does your panel PROM chip read? It's located in the center of the green circuit board.

You can probably get the iGSMV4G-TC2 which is a dual path (IP and cellular) alarm communicator from Honeywell with a new PROM chip that would allow Total Connect 2.0 services from any Honeywell/AlarmNet dealer.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes