Wiring a photoelectric eye to automatic gate opener

Old 11-02-16, 08:46 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring a photoelectric eye to automatic gate opener

Hi! First post ever! I believe this is straightforward but I have no experience with this sort of wiring. We have an automatic gate opener at our church parking lot. We want to add a safety feature where if the gate is closing, it will open back up if a photo eye beam is broken.

The opener is an Elite SL3000 from 2010 with an "Elite OmniControl Surge Suppressor unit" where the photo eye should connect. The photo cell is a Seco-Larm reflective beam sensor (E-931-S50RRLQ). The wiring diagrams for both are attached here.

I see from the manual for this opener that the photo eye will connect to the Elite OmniControl Surge Suppressor unit. I am not clear how to connect the wires on the Seco-Larm unit. I see the following wiring diagram in the Seco-Larm manual, but it is not clear which wires go where. Can you please advise how to connect the Seco-Larm to this opener?

Do I connect power (1 & 2) from sensor to 11 & 13 on the opener control? And also connect 6 & 7 from sensor to 3 & 4 on the opener control? Do I need to jump any wires on the Seco-Larm sensor? Thanks.

First pic is for the photo eye; the second pic is from the gate manual.
Name:  photo eye wiring diagram.jpg
Views: 4124
Size:  30.8 KBName:  gate wiring diagram.jpg
Views: 4551
Size:  21.0 KB

Sponsored Links
Old 11-02-16, 10:30 AM
Group Moderator
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Connect 1 from eye to 13 on the opener.
Connect 2 from eye to 11 on the opener.
Connect 3 from eye to 3 on the opener.
Connect 4 from eye to 4 on the opener.

3 and 4 is a normally closed switch on the eye. Your opener may require a normally open switch. In that case use 5 from the eye in place of 4. You don't need a tamper connection.

Old 11-02-16, 11:30 AM
Thanks for the reply.