What is the Difference between the Simon 2, Simon 3 and Simon XT or XTI?


  #1  
Old 12-04-16, 12:25 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What is the Difference between the Simon 2, Simon 3 and Simon XT or XTI?

Hello, Im just curious about what the difference is between these three different GE Systems. I currently own a GE ITI Simon 2 and want to understand what the newer versions offer.
 
  #2  
Old 12-04-16, 12:38 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,993
Received 133 Votes on 123 Posts
The XT family primarily offers better integration with things like IP based monitoring, and a larger selection of zone type/sensor groups. Otherwise, it's not too hugely different from the earlier models (the XTi has the touch screen, of course).

Simon XT/XTi | Intrusion Solutions | Interlogix Global Security Products
 
  #3  
Old 12-04-16, 09:05 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes that Is true. The Simon XT family has a lot of features. Is the GE Simon 2 or 3 worthy of being used for today's burglary protection even though its not that advanced?
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-16, 02:06 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,993
Received 133 Votes on 123 Posts
As far as the basic function of being a small scale intrusion alarm, it works as well as any all-in-one system.
 
  #5  
Old 12-05-16, 07:03 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do you think some people still use the Simon 2 anymore?
 
  #6  
Old 12-05-16, 04:41 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,993
Received 133 Votes on 123 Posts
In general, once a security system is installed, most people will keep using it, unchanged, until it experiences a major failure. I've seen people cling to long discontinued Moose systems, for example, in high end homes.

So yes, there's a fair number of Simon 2 panels still in use (Ge/ITI/Interlogix really hasn't change the transmitter protocol, in a really long time).
 
  #7  
Old 12-05-16, 05:54 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That is true. I previously thought that people threw old systems away because its just too old.

However, Is it possible for newer GE sensors be learned in to the Simon 2? Like Door & Window sensors and other stuff?
 
  #8  
Old 12-06-16, 02:08 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,993
Received 133 Votes on 123 Posts
Yes, the only thing they really have changed, is the shape of the outer housing. The new transmitters are the same frequency and protocol as the older ones.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: