Tips for running wire through existing walls

Old 01-04-17, 01:10 PM
Tips for running wire through existing walls

Hello all,

I want some tips for routing wiring through walls for new hardwired contacts or even a new install. Will it be easy? hard? I'm a newbie so any help would be helpful!

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 01-04-17, 02:40 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
A lot depends on the structure of the building. Modern houses are typically more difficult, as there tends to be more bracing and insulation in even interior walls. If you can easily get at the floor plate from below, or the top plate from above, you are halfway there. Otherwise, fishing wire is as much art as science.

Old 01-04-17, 02:53 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
When I installed my system I took a clothes hanger, straightened it out, taped my security wire to it and pushed it thru a hole drilled big enough to accommodate both.

Old 01-04-17, 03:52 PM
Group Moderator
When I first went to work for an electrician I traveled around to different new construction sites. The only way to be able to fish wires thru walls and throughout the house is to see one being built. Try to find a house being built in your area. Bring a bribe like coffee and donuts and you'll get a personal tour. Bring lunch and they may come to work for you.

You must learn wall construction. You need to see why the wiring can't just go up thru the wall. You need to see how the walls interact with the floor and the ceiling.

I learned many years ago from different electricians. Now I install high end alarm systems too. We don't hard wire doors and windows any more in an existing home as the labor to run the wire is now offset by using wireless devices. We do hard wire the keypads.

Old 01-04-17, 05:16 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
We don't hard wire doors and windows