need help connecting DSC TL-250 to existing DSC system

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-09-17, 07:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
need help connecting DSC TL-250 to existing DSC system

I am planning to connect TL-250 to my existing home security system which consists of
- PC5010
- 4 zone expanders
- siren (the large one)
- 6 keypads
- PC5204
- 3 wired smoke sensors
- 3 motion detectors
- wireless PC5132433 receiver
- 2 backup batteries

I only plan to add a few wireless flood sensors to the system. TL-250 I took off my previous home system so I am familiar how it works.
My question is what kind of power supply do I need to hook up the TL250 and do I need another battery as well?

thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-10-17, 03:22 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,168
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
While you have a _lot_ of stuff hung on this system, the PC5204 along with the panels native power is probably pretty good. It wouldn't hurt to do the math to see if you are still doing ok for system power. What is the total Ah of your batteries (if you have them in parallel, just add them together. If you are using 1 battery for the 5204 and one for the panel, you may need to go to a heavier battery (if your current batteries are 5 Ah, go to 7Ah).
 
  #3  
Old 03-10-17, 03:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I took a closer look at the panels and realized the PC5204 is powering everything except the PC5010. so theoretically I can just connect Tlink straight to the PC5010 Aux, right? All my system is powered by the PTC1640 power supply (40 va).
the batteries are 1 for 5204 and one for 5010. the capacity is 7 ah each.
and would I be able to make the PClink cable longer (the one I have is 1 foot and I need at least a couple of feet)?
thanks Ron
 
  #4  
Old 03-10-17, 06:20 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,168
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
I have a 6 foot serial cable that I use for stuff like this, so I don't have to perch on a ladder with my laptop.
Yeah, you should be able to power the device off of the PC5010 power.
 
  #5  
Old 03-10-17, 06:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks Ron, appreciate your help!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: