Wiring hardwired siren to GE Simon 2

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-11-17, 04:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring hardwired siren to GE Simon 2

I have an old alarm bell that uses 12 VDC. Is it possible that I can use that with a GE Simon 2 control panel?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-11-17, 05:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,649
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
I would say yes you could use it with the panel but not directly connected. Those old alarm bells used a lot of current.

You would definitely need a separate 12vdc power supply to run the bell and a relay to integrate the bell to the panel. If you wanted battery backup then you'd need a 12vdc supply with backup battery.

I think that panel runs on under 12vdc but a 12vdc relay would probably work. It may be somewhat experimental as the siren outputs are supervised.
 
  #3  
Old 05-11-17, 06:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok but if I hook it up directly it won't hurt anything?
 
  #4  
Old 05-11-17, 06:44 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,168
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
At best, it simply won't work. At worst, it will make the alarm panel shut down from the excess power draw. These modern panels have a solid state overload that _usually_ protects them.
 
  #5  
Old 05-11-17, 07:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh I see. So hooking it up directly would break the alarm system. If it does shut down will it not come back on ever again? In order to properly hook up the bell I need a 12VDC Power supply and a relay?
 
  #6  
Old 05-11-17, 08:29 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,168
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Nah, it's essentially a circuit breaker. Once the overload is removed, it will generally reset; but you can overload that circuit until that protection device simply fails. Takes some doing, though.
 
  #7  
Old 05-11-17, 08:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,649
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
From what I've read.... that alarm will supply less than 1/4 of an amp of power to the siren port. Most of those older bells used better than 1A of power to operate.

The outputs are supposed to be current limited for excessive loads but that is an older panel and not replaceable... I don't recommend running the risk of damaging it.


Ahhh...Mr Ron up past his bedtime.
 
  #8  
Old 05-11-17, 08:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I see. Well I won't do that then. But is there a better way of hooking it up without damaging it? Where can I find the 12VDC box to power it that you mentioned earlier in this thread?
 
  #9  
Old 06-07-17, 01:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is it also possible to wire up a Ademco 747 siren to it?
 
  #10  
Old 06-07-17, 04:56 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,168
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
A 747 siren draws about 400ma; so it might _just_ work: http://library.ademconet.com/MWT/fs2...s-Speakers.PDF

These all in one units really weren't designed to take the place of a full scale alarm system. They have a lot of limits, because they were really designed for things like small apartments and condos.
 
  #11  
Old 06-07-17, 05:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So I can hook this up directly to the panel?
 
  #12  
Old 06-07-17, 05:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I also found another siren that can be used. Here is the specifications:

Alarm Siren 5" 115 dB 12 VDC
Self contained, weather resistant indoor/outdoor siren. 115 dB output (3 dB). Dual-tone steady or yelp that can be heard for blocks. Features new patented piezo dynamic technology and heavy-duty ABS plastic housing with metal swivel bracket.
Specifications: 15 watt, 6~12 VDC operation (13.5 VDC max.) Only 200 mA current draw @ 12 VDC. 5" diameter x 6" depth.
Wiring -- Red: Positive (+) for yelp tone; Yellow: Positive (+) for steady tone; White: Negative (-) for both.

Would it be fine since it can operate around 6 - 12 VDC of power and only draw out a 200 mA current?
 
  #13  
Old 06-07-17, 05:36 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,168
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
That one will probably work, just fine.
 
  #14  
Old 06-07-17, 09:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey MrRon, so I have done some studying out of the manual and it turns out the siren that I recommend is better than the 747. The maximum output of the Simon panel is 12VDC at 250mA. So this siren that I reccomend is definitely acceptable for the Simon 2. However, what do the resistors do in between the terminals? Do they need to be removed or are they used for siren supervison?
 
  #15  
Old 06-08-17, 02:23 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,168
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Yes, the 47K resistors are needed. See page 23 of the manual: http://static.interlogix.com/library/466-1574f.pdf
 
  #16  
Old 06-08-17, 06:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 76
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, and can I use 2 of these sirens for both Interior and Exterior?
 
  #17  
Old 06-08-17, 04:03 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,168
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
From the system specifications:

Auxiliary Power Output: Regulated & unregulated,
fused 12 VDC at 250 mA (maximum)
 
  #18  
Old 06-09-17, 10:36 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 391
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
Using bells on modern day panels

Unless it's a motor-driven bell, the bell contacts will arc each time they open, creating an "electrical storm". And this storm is on the panel wiring; NOT GOOD. I've seen panels lock-up from this; don't remember seeing one get toasted, but my memory isn't what it one was.

The only way I would use a bell on a modern panel is to isolate the bell with it's own power supply and activate it with a relay.

Like mechanical contacts, any money you might save probably isn't enough to solve the problems.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: