DSC PC3000rk - All LEDs on the keypad remain on after a power failure

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-16-17, 07:30 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DSC PC3000rk - All LEDs on the keypad remain on after a power failure

I have an old DSC PC3000rk with a failing battery but my alarm system still kept working.

After a power failure a few days ago, all 16 lights on the keypad are continuously lit and I haven't been able to reset the keypad.

On the actual control panel, there is a flashing red light on the circuit board that occurs every 30 seconds. I even tried powering off all power to the house but it still did not fix the problem.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Would replacing the battery with a new one resolve the issue?

Thanks

Martin
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-16-17, 07:31 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,585
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
One of the flaws of the DSC alarm controls of this generation, is that if they are allowed to run on a failing battery, the programming can be corrupted.

Installer manual: http://cms.dsc.com/download2.php?t=1&id=13653
(Note: the OCR that was done to this manual turned the "*" character into a "Q".

About all that can be done is to default the panel and reconfigure all of the zone settings from scratch. You have to default, because a corruption like this scrambles all kind of random programming locations.
 
  #3  
Old 10-17-17, 06:43 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have several questions on resetting to factory defaults.
(1) How do I turn off the AC other than turning off the power to the entire house as there is no transformer that is plugged in - it looks like the alarm panel was hardwired in the ceiling?
(2) I assume I can use any short jumper (similar to what I use on a PC)?
(3) Once I configure or change the master code and my other codes, where do I go in the PDF file to configure each zone? I know where each zone goes to but how do I identify the correct sensor?

Thanks

Martin
 
  #4  
Old 10-17-17, 06:44 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,585
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
The odds are that your power transformer is plugged into an outlet that's currently behind a piece of furniture, or is in the attic, or similar utility space (when these were new, it was common practice to hide the wall plug).

If you can't find the plug, just take one of the wires off of either of the two terminals at the left end of the motherboard (the terminals labled AC). It's 16vac, so it's safe to handle. Just don't let it short to anything, those transformers are easy to destroy with even a momentary short.

Any short length of stiff wire will work as a jumper.

Hopefully, you have a list of what your existing zones were. You need to know what function they were serving to program the system again. Otherwise you have the grueling task of setting them with a generic setting and opening one door/window at a time to figure out what zone does what. _Then_ you can reset the zones back to their correct functions.

The zone definitions are in programming locations 16 & 17. You will also probably have to turn ON option 1 and option 5 in programming location 18 to turn off the communicator and disable the EOL requirement (typical DSC installs from this era didn't use the resistors in residential installs).
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: