Ademco Vista - Set report code to '00' on RF sensor


  #1  
Old 11-07-17, 08:11 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ademco Vista - Set report code to '00' on RF sensor

Good morning,

I have an Ademco Vista system with what I think is a 6150 keypad (K4392V2-H M7240 Rev.E marked on it).

I have a 5811 Wireless Door Transmitter which is malfunctioning, the alarm company is telling me I need a repeater. I find it odd since I have other RF sensors in the same room which are functioning fine.

Regardless, I would like to disable the zone in the meantime to stop the calls from central in the middle of the night. The alarm company won't talk me through it.

I've read that I can do it blind (at my own risk) and without the installer code but I want to confirm the key sequence before attempting it.

Can someone give me the sequence to enter the programming menu without the installer code and then to set the report code to '00' on Zone 12?

Thank you!
 
  #2  
Old 11-08-17, 04:32 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
No, you cannot do it without the installer code, and it is VERY difficult to do it without being able to see the programming prompts.

The repeater suggestion is probably hogwash. These transmitters can and do fail, Is it malfunctioning and creating a false alarm trip, or just a zone trouble? In either case, simply pop the battery out, and bypass the zone, for the short term. To replace what I suspect to be a failing transmitter, you need to be able to get a 2-line alpha keypad. It can even be borrowed, since it doesn't have to be a permanent part of the system.
 
  #3  
Old 11-09-17, 06:02 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The transmitter has been replaced and is still causing problems.
It is displaying "Check 12" on the keypad intermittently and we get a call from central. Bypassing the zone isn't an issue, getting woken up at 3am by central for a transmitter malfunction is.
 
  #4  
Old 11-09-17, 06:07 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can't I use this to reset the installer code?

If you do not know the installer code either, you must enter the system programming using the backdoor method (Holding down {*} & {#} during the first minute of power-up. Then, you can change the installer code in field *20.

And then this to disable the zone permanently?

[installer code] + 8 00,
*56
0
12*
*
00
1
00
00*
0*
1*
*
0*
00 to exit *56
*99 to exit programming.
 

Last edited by dominicvautour; 11-09-17 at 06:12 AM. Reason: Formatting
  #5  
Old 11-09-17, 02:44 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
Yes you can change or retrieve the installer code with the keypad you have.

Yes, those keystrokes _should_ delete the transmitter, but you will be far from the first to attempt this and get lost in the weeds of not being able to see the prompts. If you wish to do so, just take the list and use it as a checklist. It will help.
 
  #6  
Old 11-09-17, 04:44 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you Mr Ron.

I actually thought of another fix - removing the transmitter and setting it next to the panel. Voila, no more range issues.

Do you have any ideas on how to remedy this permanently without getting a repeater? Does Honeywell make a more powerful door close sensor than the 5811?
 
  #7  
Old 11-10-17, 07:18 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
They make several models. The 5816 is pretty much their standard model. The 5811 you have is often chosen because it's a lower profile device.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: