Upgrade 20p PROM from 5.2 to 9.12?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-14-17, 10:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upgrade 20p PROM from 5.2 to 9.12?

My Vista 20p has been running 5.2 PROM since day 1 I just bought some used equip and it has a 9.12 PROM in it. Can I simply power down and replace the 5.2 with 9.12 PROM? Or ?

thanks for the help!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-14-17, 07:41 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,545
Since your configuration is stored in the PROM, there really is no advantage to just swapping the chip; since you would still have to reprogram all of your zones and settings.
 
  #3  
Old 11-23-17, 09:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Post Honeywell Vista 20P -- upgrading ROM question

My 20p has been running 5.2 PROM since day 1 I just bought some used equip and it has a 9.12 PROM in it. Can I simply power down and replace the 5.2 with 9.12 PROM? Or ?

thanks for the help!
 
  #4  
Old 11-24-17, 12:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,374
You already asked this question and received a reply. https://www.doityourself.com/forum/e...-2-9-12-a.html

So, unless you desire to re-program the entire system the answer is NO.

Why do you want to change the PROM? What do you expect to gain from the newer PROM?
 
  #5  
Old 11-24-17, 10:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 11
I'm seeing other into on the web saying (posted 9 months ago) ...

"As long as your chip is a version 2.# or later, your board is a version 2 and you can prom upgrade (thereby not losing any programming)."

https://disqus.com/home/discussion/a...0p_alarm_grid/


I'm considering using Total Connect which requires 9.12 and since I already have the 9.12 PROM I figured why not put it in, just in case.
 
  #6  
Old 11-24-17, 10:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 11
I'm seeing other into on the web saying (posted 9 months ago) ...

"As long as your chip is a version 2.# or later, your board is a version 2 and you can prom upgrade (thereby not losing any programming)."

https://disqus.com/home/discussion/a...0p_alarm_grid/


I'm considering using Total Connect which requires 9.12 and since I already have the 9.12 PROM I figured why not put it in, just in case.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'