ademco alarm problems

Old 03-07-18, 09:51 AM
ademco alarm problems

I have an ademco alarm system I believe to be a 4140 xmp with 3 stations. Two are operating normally with one inop and showing message OC I believe the keypad is a 6127 and the green blue red and yellow wires appear to be hard wired into the terminal. Any thoughts on remedy or replacement would be appreciate. I have ordered a new battery because of the age of the old one. If I have posted improperly I apologize as I have never used this site before. Huffman

Sponsored Links
Old 03-07-18, 03:33 PM
"OC" mean "Open Circuit", ihdicating that at least one of keypad's 4 wires is either severed or loose from its connection at the panel or keypad. Check the panel connections first. The keypad wires are connected to the 4140XMP panel's terminals 6, 7, 8, and 9. Don't just look at the wires on those terminals, test each one with a firm tug on the wire. A loose wire can hide in a wire bunch if you just tug on the bunch. Tug at each individual wire to make sure it's firmly attached.

If the 6, 7, 8, &9 wires are firmly attached, you'll need to take the keypad off the wall and check the connections there. While you have it off, check the model number of the keypad, it's printed on the back of the mounting plate. The wires may be attached by screw terminals or spliced onto keypad lead-in wires (aka wire leads).

Download the Installer's Manual if you don't already have one.
http://www.alarmhow.net/manuals/Adem...n%20Manual.pdf

If all connections are good and the keypad is still displaying OC, then you're probably dealing with a severed wire. Sometimes solid-core wire will break inside its insulation near where it's connected--feel each individual wire to check for that. I can usually find a broken wire by running my thumbnail along the wire. You'll know what it feels like if you find it.

Old 03-08-18, 06:12 AM