Vista V20 programming question about *97, the Reset Factory Defaults command.

Old 05-19-18, 12:21 AM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Vista V20 programming question about *97, the Reset Factory Defaults command.

I recently started programming a V20 system and successfully installed a 5800 wireless PIR and a 5816 wireless door/window sensor, and they worked when I did the Walk Test. After that I began installing a key fob, and I think it was then that I got off the correct correct step. (I didn't know that I should keep hitting * to get out) So, in case I did something problematic I did a *97 factory reset. After that I started to reinstall the 5800 in zone 09 and the first descriptor showed 09 04 1 10 (all okay) but then "UR:1s" for the input device and loop. I continued and when I got to "Input Type" I entered 04 but the next descriptor said Unsup. RF. After another *97 the same thing occurred. What happened? I think Unsup rf means unsupported RF.
Any suggestions, and do I need to abandon Zone Locations which give me unexpected results? Did I hose up the PCB?

Sponsored Links
Old 05-19-18, 07:46 AM
C
Received 29 Votes on 28 Posts
I don't think you can hose up the physical PCB with programming, but you _can_ hose up the programming badly enough that you may have to enter a *97 and start over from scratch. I usually try to discourage DIYers from hitting *97 and starting over from scratch every time they hit a snag in programming. However, if you've futzed around with Zone 9 entries, *97 and a fresh start might be the safest course.

Assuming you gave us the correct model number, i.e., Vista-20 and NOT Vista-20P: Zone 9 is reserved in FIRMWARE for RF Supervision (That's right there in the Installation Manual) and CANNOT be programmed for any other kind of zone. (Unfortunately Zone 9 does show up in programming and that's a design flaw--don't try to change it, results are unpredictable, except that will get an Unsupervised RF error.