Reset smoke detector - hard-wired and battery backup in security system

Old 06-19-18, 12:09 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Reset smoke detector - hard-wired and battery backup in security system

I'm not a pro but I can generally figure out things in my house pretty well but this one has me stumped.

I have a security system in my home with glass breakage detectors and smoke alarms all a part of it. The keypads are Vista 20. The system is hard-wired to the house and there is also an external central battery backup. I have a smoke alarm that is chirping once every 30 seconds. I had this same problem several years ago and replacing the battery backup solved it. I replaced the battery for this issue, but the smoke detector still chirps every 30 seconds.

There is no reset button on it that I can see, and pressing what I think is a Test button activates the security alarm, which I can reset at the keypad. I have tried doing that reset key sequence twice at the keypad, but the chirping persists. The light is flashing green on the detector, when I first looked at it neither the green nor red lights were flashing. I have to assume replacing the battery backup at least resulted in getting back the green flashing light.

I am thinking either that detector has gone bad, or more likely I am not using the correct reset sequence. Does anyone have any ideas for something I might try? Thank you.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-19-18, 02:23 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 23 Votes on 22 Posts
It sounds like you have 120V battery backup smoke alarms that have been connected to your security system with a relay (not a recommended configuration, actually).

Smoke alarms can, and do degrade, and some models use that same trouble chirp to alert you to that fact. What is the brand and model of the smoke?

Also, it is possible that the chirp is _not_ coming from that device. That little piezo chirp can echo in very strange ways, especially in a room with a lot of hard surfaces.