Security cam and e-mail alarm


  #1  
Old 06-29-18, 06:08 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,497
Received 625 Likes on 555 Posts
Security cam and e-mail alarm

This is driving me nuts. Most likely something very simple that I don’t see.
I installed a new security cam. SunEyes SP-0V706 outdoor. I’m trying to set up my email alarm. But I keep getting this error message.

I know for a fact that my G-mail log-in is correct as is my password. But the error keeps occurring.

Anybody want to guess what I’m missing?
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 06-30-18, 04:39 AM
D
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 858
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Have you tried SSL off and port 587?
 
  #3  
Old 06-30-18, 04:47 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,497
Received 625 Likes on 555 Posts
Doesn't help. G-mail says to use port 465 for SSL and 587 for TLS
 
  #4  
Old 06-30-18, 06:04 AM
E
Member
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 341
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Try changing the "safe link" from SSL to either TLS (and use server port 465) or STARTTLS (and use server port 587). Make sure the password you have entered is your email account password, not the password you use to access the camera (don't mean to insult your intelligence, but I've seen people do this). Also make sure that you click apply after changing the settings but before hitting "test." In addition, I'm not familiar with this camera, but my presume that, as your screenshot shows, it is correct to place the sending email address in the "user name" field rather than the "sender" field. On my cam (different brand), the sending email address goes in the "sender" field (my cam's email settings do not have a "user name" field).
 
  #5  
Old 06-30-18, 06:47 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,073
Received 3,194 Likes on 2,869 Posts
Is the camera set up for a static IP ?
Did you go into the router and open the ports to that IP address ?
 
  #6  
Old 06-30-18, 07:07 AM
Z
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,652
Received 87 Likes on 81 Posts
Well I haven’t looked into POP3, IMAP etc. since I retired from my software job many years ago, those are all distant memories. But this came from the manual linked to below – page 34-35 section 4.5.4 Email. No POP3 could be the problem - maybe lol.

http://cd.suneyes.hk/VNew/en/doc/V%2...r%20Manual.pdf

Note:

1. The server of sending email should support POP3 protocal. In order to strengthen security and reduce spam, Many mail server closed this protocal at present. So users need to check if the server support POP3 before choose mail server, otherwise the mail can not send successfully.

2.For some mail server usin g SSL certificate, it must enable SSL option, then can send email sucessfully
(English is not their first language. I think they mean setting the incoming server to POP3. That's not literally what the first sentence says - but probably just the language barrier. I think that's what they mean, but is confusing - to me anyway.)
 

Last edited by zoesdad; 06-30-18 at 07:40 AM. Reason: added "English ...
  #7  
Old 06-30-18, 06:59 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,497
Received 625 Likes on 555 Posts
I tried every combination possible.

PJ...It doesn't seem to make a difference whether it it's static or dynamic.

Eclipse...I tried all the things you mentioned.

And Zoesdad...I have that manual in front of me.

I'm sure it's some minor thing I'm mssing.
 
  #8  
Old 06-30-18, 07:46 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 5,037
Received 322 Likes on 256 Posts
Not that I know much about this subject, but in looking thru that manual, I question if the user name and password is your gmail addy and pw. I think maybe not.
 
  #9  
Old 07-01-18, 04:29 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,497
Received 625 Likes on 555 Posts
Shaddy,

I thought the same thing, and I tried user name and PW of the camera and other related items.
 
  #10  
Old 07-01-18, 06:38 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 5,037
Received 322 Likes on 256 Posts
That manual is not easy to follow since it seems to be written in broken English, but from what I can make out, looks like the default may be admin and admin, which they tell you to change. Can't hurt to try.

ETA: I'm moving this thread to Security Systems.
 
  #11  
Old 07-01-18, 07:20 AM
Z
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,652
Received 87 Likes on 81 Posts
It was mentioned in another post but try your email address in the “Sender” field, in addition to the “Send To” field. Apparently it’s OK for them to be the same. (This manual is a piece of work).

Why is your “User name” different from “Send To”? Shouldn’t both be your gmail address?
 
  #12  
Old 07-01-18, 09:05 AM
H
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2,462
Received 260 Likes on 222 Posts
Originally Posted by Norm201
Most likely something very simple that I don’t see.
You probably need a "app specific password" generated through your google account,
google will NOT accept your webmail-google-password.

IIRC, google has shifted to app-specific-passwords for "saved", i.e. non-webmail logins.

You want to go to gmail/google, sign in.
Go to https://myaccount.google.com/apppasswords
Go down to the very bottom, and generate a new single-use-secure-password for the webcam.
Go to the webcam setup page and copy and paste that single-use password.

Should work.
 
  #13  
Old 07-01-18, 05:57 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,497
Received 625 Likes on 555 Posts
Hal,

What you say sounds like plan, but I can't seem to navigate as you stated. When I go to the site you listed I get this error page.

So I follow the app Passwords, to Sign-in and Security.

Then where do I go? Can't seem to find any site that gives a one time password.
 
Attached Images  
  #14  
Old 07-01-18, 06:14 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2,462
Received 260 Likes on 222 Posts
Well,

That's based on how I usually sign into gmail,
via chrome browser, to gmail, then to google account settings,
that's the page, could be that google won't let you click there directly without multiple sign ins.

Or, you might not be setup for "app passwords" you'll need to search around for "app passwords" once you're in the google account.

Best guide I can find is
https://ipcamtalk.com/threads/gmail-...fication.1995/
 
  #15  
Old 07-01-18, 06:33 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 29,448
Received 1,583 Likes on 1,418 Posts
Im not sure either... but username isn't usually an email address. Its usually a login that is associated with your email address.
 
  #16  
Old 07-01-18, 06:55 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,497
Received 625 Likes on 555 Posts
Success. Had to enable 2 step verification.

Thanks to all who responded to my plea.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: