Help with enrollment of replacement PK5501 keypad

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-23-18, 11:31 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help with enrollment of replacement PK5501 keypad

I have a DSC PC1616 panel with two PK5501 keypads. One of the keypad displays is going south and I want to replace the keypad.

AIUI, the programming string is:
[*][8]Installer Code[000]Keypad Enrollment[0]Slot address(??)partition and slot#

What do I use for the partition and slot numbers? If it's the P/S numbers for the keypad being replaced, how can I find out what those are?

TIA
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-23-18, 01:26 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,701
Received 92 Votes on 85 Posts
I am assuming that you have the installer manual: http://cms.dsc.com/download.php?t=1&id=17007

Go to the keypad you want to replace and enter[*][8]Installer Code[000]Keypad Enrollment[0].

You can use the chart on page 10 of the installer manual to view the contents of that programming location. Unless your installation is unusual, your partition will be 1. The only real variable is what slot they picked for the keypad.
 
  #3  
Old 09-23-18, 06:47 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks!

I have that document and also v4.7, but they appear to be mostly the same.

When I enter that[*][8] string, I first get a "1." When I press one of the Emergency Keys, I also get a "1." I get the same results on each of the two keypads.

That means partition 1 and slot 1, right?

If so, next question: Is it normal for both keypads to have the same partition and slot numbers?
 
  #4  
Old 09-23-18, 07:50 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,701
Received 92 Votes on 85 Posts
Yes, that indicates partition 1 - Slot 1

No, for a DSC each keypad is supposed to have an individual address. With the LED and fixed message keypads like the one you have, it is possible for someone to screw up and leave them on the same address (which is the factory default) and it won't be noticed, as long as both keypads are otherwise identically configured.
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-18, 03:48 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you very much for your help!

 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: