Dsc pc1832 programming Toggle on/off?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-11-18, 12:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 167
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Dsc pc1832 programming Toggle on/off?

I have installed the EVL-4EZR module into my alarm panel and my system is currently being monitored over the internet.

My next step is to get rid of my telephone land line. Before I do this I just want to make sure I have the correct steps for disabling the alarm panel “line supervision” and the system “phone dialer/ system communicator”.

From what I can determine the programming sequence would be:

To disable line supervision: [*8] [Installer code] [015] [7] ##
To disable phone dialer/system communicator [*8] [Installer code] [380] [1] ##

So a couple of questions, #1- does this look correct?

#2- If I wanted to turn these features back on would I just re-enter the exact same code? In other words when you enter the code does it just toggle that feature to the opposite state it was in when you entered the code (on or off)?

Hope I’m making sense, TIA for any help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-11-18, 12:53 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,144
Upvotes: 0
Received 24 Votes on 23 Posts
Correct. These are option selection programming areas. They are just toggle on/off. As long as you don't delete the programmed phone number(s) they will remain should you choose to go back to analog phone line.
 
  #3  
Old 11-11-18, 01:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 167
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you "MrRonFL" for the speedy reply, much appreciated.
 
  #4  
Old 11-11-18, 01:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 167
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sooo, I just entered the codes as above, then power cycled the panel. Disconnected the phone line. Powered the panel back up and almost immediately received a trouble code at the keypad and received a text message from my online monitoring company indicating a "Security event: TLM Trouble. I reconnected the phone line and all is well again.

When I entered the codes I did receive what I believe is the "error" tone (2 second long beep) when I tried to enter 015 on the first step and the same thing when entering 380 on the second step??

Any ideas what my next step should be before I get rid of the land line? I thought I had this figured out but I was wrong.
 

Last edited by Buzz; 11-11-18 at 01:43 PM. Reason: Add more info
  #5  
Old 11-11-18, 07:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 167
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well I guess since this is a different question from the original post it might be better if I just start a new thread with this question so I will go ahead and do that.
 
  #6  
Old 11-11-18, 07:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 167
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Disable TLM & phone dialer on DSC alarm

Dsc pc1832 alarm board with a pk5508 keypad

As my alarm system is now monitored over the internet using an EVL-4EZR module I would like to get rid of my telephone land line. Before I do that I want to make sure the alarm system won’t be throwing trouble codes when I lose the landline.

I tried disabling the TLM & system communicator (phone dialer) by entering the following codes:
To disable (TLM) line supervision: [*8] [Installer code] [015] [7] ##
To disable phone dialer/system communicator [*8] [Installer code] [380] [1] ##

The problem I am having is when I enter [015] from the code above I get an error tone from the keypad.
Same thing when I enter [380] to disable the dialer.

I power cycled the panel after entering both codes and disconnected the phone line and almost immediately received a trouble code at the keypad and received a text message from my online monitoring company indicating a "Security event: TLM Trouble.
Below is the notice I receive from the Alarm company:

Security Event: TLM Trouble
Location: Our House
Time: 2018-11-11 15:06:45
Partition: 0

Below is what I get when I set off the alarm from a motion detector:
Security Event: Upstairs Motion Alarm
Location: Our House
Time: 2018-11-06 11:56:01
Partition: 1

Anyone see something here that could pin point why I am having trouble with this? I did notice the difference in the Partition #’s but really don’t know if that means anything relevant to my issue?? Sorry for the long post!
 
  #7  
Old 11-12-18, 01:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 167
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Please disregard, problem solved.
 
  #8  
Old 11-12-18, 07:07 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,144
Upvotes: 0
Received 24 Votes on 23 Posts
Same system, same thread.

It sounds like you might not have actually been in programming. What was showing on the display?
 
  #9  
Old 11-13-18, 05:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 167
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's working as it should now, I ended up contacting support at EyezOn and they were fantastic. Very patient took their time and walked me through everything I needed to do. It’s been a long time since I have encountered a company with such good support. Very happy that I choose them!!
 

Last edited by Buzz; 11-13-18 at 06:02 AM. Reason: Add more info
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: