need help upgrading Ademco system

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-20-19, 09:33 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
need help upgrading Ademco system

I have an Ademco 4140 hard wired system I installed a long time ago. I have (3) 5137 consoles. I want to be able to arm / disarm and get alerts with my cell phone but don't want to pay for a service.
I have been looking at the Envisalink EVL-4CG as an option but it will not work with my panel.It will work with the Vista 20P.
My question(s);
(1) Is changing to the 20P and Envisalink a good option, or are there better ways?
(2) will I be able to use my 5137 consoles and current sensors with the 20P?

Thanks in advance.
 
  #2  
Old 03-20-19, 05:42 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,903
Received 120 Votes on 111 Posts
The upgrade to a current production system is a good idea. The keypads you have are not going to work with the V-20p; plus you need at least one 6160 keypad to program the new panel. The other two can be the less expensive 6150 models, if you like.
 
  #3  
Old 03-21-19, 02:58 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nevada
Posts: 79
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Pretty sure that's what I yanked out of my mother's house.



Ok, that was a 4150. Replaced it with a Vista 20p and three keypads, a 6160V, a 6160, and a 6150RF. Bought the panel and one keypad on Ebay, the others I had lying around.

Regarding the Envisalink, I'd rather have something with cellular backup that works even when every wire to the home is cut, and I'm willing to pay a monthly fee for that.
 
  #4  
Old 03-21-19, 09:26 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,084
Received 43 Votes on 40 Posts
Fataylor, Just checking that what you have is the Ademco 4140 panel and not the more elaborate Ademco 4140XMPT panel with hardwired zone expansion (zone numbers higher than 9). If you have the plain basic 4140, with no more than 9 zones, then you're good to go with a Vista-20P replacement and, as MrRonFL says, a 6160 KP and two other, either 6160s or 6150s. If you're leaving off any part of the existing model nomenclature, it can get more complicated.


@PondScum: Wow, haven't seen one of those for awhile. The 4150, contrary to what the novice would expect, actually _predated_ the early "Vista" models like 4110, 4120, 4130, and 4140. It was, in fact, an early example of the prior generation of panels and there was no compatibility of peripherals with the Early Vista models like the 4140. After the 4150 came the 4160-12 and 4180-12, with (I think) the oddball 4152 and 4153 briefly in production somewhere in the series. Their programming resided in an EPROM chip (691), programmed by a clunky tabletop programmer (IIRC, the 690) with keyboard and dial switches, and thank technology we don't have to do _that_ anymore. The early Vista series (4110 thru 4140) introduced Keypad Programming and permanent EEPROM memory residing on the panel's PCB.

I long since gave up trying to figure out how Ademco decided on naming their models--the older generation had higher numbers than the newer, and occasionally in their older stuff, they're reuse a model number for a different device, i.e., give a keypad the same model number as an older control panel (can't remember which ones those were now, but I noticed at the time--Ademco did do a number of one-offs that were obsolete in a year or two, back in the old days).

Sorry to ramble, but your post and pics of the 4150 and KPs brought up a lot of memories.
 
  #5  
Old 03-23-19, 09:43 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think this might be the 4140XMPT according tho the label. Does that change things?

Name:  IMG_1406.jpg
Views: 277
Size:  20.0 KBName:  IMG_1405.jpg
Views: 285
Size:  26.4 KBName:  IMG_1404.jpg
Views: 297
Size:  15.2 KB
 
  #6  
Old 03-23-19, 11:02 AM
Andoy33's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 160
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
It shouldn’t change anything your system should be able to be swapped out with a vista 20p ! You will also need to upgrade the keypad to a 6160 since that keypad isn’t addressable and is way too old now
 
  #7  
Old 03-23-19, 11:07 AM
Andoy33's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 160
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Also wanted to add that if you have 3 keypads. The ideal setup would be having one 6160 alpha keypad , one 6150 RF keypad for wireless capabilities and a third keypad of your choice either a 6160 or a regular 6150
 
  #8  
Old 03-23-19, 03:02 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,084
Received 43 Votes on 40 Posts
It could change things, depending on the size of your system, i.e., how many zones you have.

IF you only have 9 zones or less, then what Andoy33 says is correct; and you don't need to read farther.


IF you have more than 9 zones, then you have either hardwired zone expansion, (V-Plex) and/or wireless expansion (5700-series, uses one or two model 4280 RF Receiver(s)). Neither form of zone expansion is compatible with the Vista-20P without replacing the the RF Receiver (to a 5881/5882) and all the wireless sensors; and/or replacing V-plex modules with 4219 hardwired expanders, if possible (it might not be).

I assume you have the installation manual somewhere, but here's the first one I found online: http://www.alarmhow.net/manuals/Adem...n%20Manual.pdf

IF you have more than 9 zones, it would be helpful to know if your system uses the 4190 RPMs (Remote Point Modules), or possibly 4194 surface-mount reed contact, and/or 4197 polling loop extender; or the 4208 8-zone module.

Again, this if _IF_ you have more than 9 zones in the system. Some of these expansion options are easier to replace and adapt to the Vista-20P than others, so before I go any farther with this contingency tree, I'll wait to hear (1) how many zones you have, and (2) what the zone numbers are, which might give us a clue to the kind of expansion involved.

EDIT: I just noticed that you specified a hardwired system in your original post, so the only concern, _IF_ you have more than 9 zones, is what kind of V-Plex devices were used.
 

Last edited by ChosunOne; 03-23-19 at 03:19 PM.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: