DSC PC1832 with PK5501 keypad

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-08-19, 08:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Angry DSC PC1832 with PK5501 keypad

Hi,

I just moved to new house and the previous owner could not provide the installer code. So i used the wire method to hardware default. I set date and time but i donít have the green check mark. I see the open zone in the left corner. When i hit # it scroll 1 to 8. With visual inspect i see that i have 8 zones wired to main panel + 2 zones wired to two PK5501 keypads ( i removed each keypads and they have 6wires) So i have total of 10zones...

Question is why keypd shows Open zones and it scrool 1 to 8?

I thought i would need to define zones..

I created a sheet with zone description and types.. I followed the programming method..

8 - Installer Code - 001 - 03 - 03 - 05 - 05 - 05 - 05 - 03 - 01 - 01 - 01 and ### to exit.

Still having Open zones icon and no green checkmark?

Any help will be appreciated..
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-09-19, 06:35 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,977
Likes Received: 6
Odds are that your system was configured with NC zones instead of EOL zones (very common residential practice with DSC installers), but the default setting is for EOL zones.
You have to turn the EOL feature off.

*8 [installer code] 013 - press 1 to turn ON option 1
Press # until you are out of programming
 
  #3  
Old 06-09-19, 11:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
i will try this.. why it scrolls from zone 1 to 8? Missing the two zones attached to keypads
 
  #4  
Old 06-09-19, 02:31 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,977
Likes Received: 6
You need to figure out what zones were mapped to the keypads, those get configured in a different programming location from the rest. Do you have a list of what your zones were, originally. It looks like you are assuming that the keypad zones were zones 9 & 10.

First you need to know which keypad is on which keypad address.
 
  #5  
Old 06-09-19, 05:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
I have keypad near to garage door and front door. Also prrcious owner labeled Zone 9 as Front Door and Zone 10 Garage Door.

Also when i open/close these 2 door i donít hear the chime and the keypads does not see them as open/close..
 
  #6  
Old 06-09-19, 07:07 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,977
Likes Received: 6
Ok, I don't think you are understanding the process and/or question.

Keypad input zones are dependent on the keypad address, so you have to go into programming at each keypad, and determine what address is programmed into each. They are probably 1 & 2, but you have to know which is which.

Then you go into progamming location 020 and program those zone numbers into the slot corresponding to the keypad number. Once the zone is assigned to the keypads, then they are normal zones as far as the system is concerned.

Do you have a full copy of the installer manual?

https://cms.dsc.com/download.php?t=1&id=17007
 
  #7  
Old 06-10-19, 02:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
1.
I assigned each keypad a slot#
*8+installer code+000+01 (typed this on first keypad) (zone 09)
*8+installer code+000+02 (typed this on 2nd keypad) (zone 10)

2.
I defined the Zones
8 - Installer Code - 001 - 03 - 03 - 05 - 05 - 05 - 05 - 03 - 01 - 01 - 01 and ### to exit.

3.
In section 020 i assigned Slot 01 to Zone 09 and Slot 02 to Zone 10
*8+installer code+020+01+09+02+10 ### to exit

4.
I enabled Zones 1 to 10
*8+installer code+202
*8+installer code+203

Still not working
 
  #8  
Old 06-10-19, 03:51 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,977
Likes Received: 6
3.
In section 020 i assigned Slot 01 to Zone 09 and Slot 02 to Zone 10
*8+installer code+020+01+09+02+10 ### to exit
That should have been 020 09 10 ###
What you did was assign zone 1 to keypad 1, zone 9 to keypad 2, zone 2 to keypad 3, and zone 10 to keypad 4.

To fix it you need to enter 020 09 10 00 00 ###
When you view 202 and 203, all 8 options should be ON in each slot.
 
om3rx liked this post.
  #9  
Old 06-10-19, 06:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Thanks all the 10 Zones working now..

In step 1 to assign a Slot to Keypad i did it wrong..
*8+installer code+000+01 (typed this on first keypad) (zone 09)
*8+installer code+000+02 (typed this on 2nd keypad) (zone 10)
corrected to
*8+installer code+000+0+11 (typed this on first keypad) (zone 09)
*8+installer code+000+0+12 (typed this on 2nd keypad) (zone 10)

When i view 202 i see all the 8 options ON
203 shows only 2 options ON since i use 9 and 10..

Thanks for your help and patience
 

Last edited by om3rx; 06-10-19 at 06:21 PM.
  #10  
Old 06-10-19, 07:05 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,977
Likes Received: 6
Yeah, I hadn't noticed that you had set both keypads as global keypads. That's a whole different problem on it's own.

Very little of this type of configuration is strictly intuitive...
 
  #11  
Old 06-11-19, 02:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
For basic home security with 10zones should i leave the keypads in global node or in a partition?
 
  #12  
Old 06-12-19, 02:13 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,977
Likes Received: 6
"Global" is only useful if you have multiple partitions that you need to control from a single keypad. Otherwise, you assign the keypads to the the partition that you are using.

In global mode, you have to switch to a partition every time you try to use the keypad.
 
  #13  
Old 06-12-19, 12:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Thanks for the your help..
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes