First Alert FA1300C & FA250KP

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-25-19, 05:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 40
First Alert FA1300C & FA250KP

Hi, my brother is about to close on a house that has a FA1300C with 3 FA250KP keypads. From what I have read it is a re branded Ademco. (I guess a 4140XMPT??)
The alarm is turned off right now.
When he moves in and "if" the alarm works:
Is it probably locked??
Is the programming the same as others Vista??
Can the keypads be replaced with modern ones??

Any other info I should know of this panel??

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-25-19, 12:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Southern Arizona
Posts: 45
Upvotes Received: 1
First thought is to have the owner provide the codes as a condition of closing, with a hefty dollar amount if they do not.
Used to be there were methods of reverting panels back to unprogrammed condition but every manufacture had their own ideas.
I would call a local alarm specialist and pay him to equal the system before closing. If the system meant something to me.
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-19, 05:11 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,093
Upvotes Received: 21
It's an older model (circa 1992). It can _probably_ be made functional, but I strongly recommend replacing the control and keypads with current models. The big question is whether they used the polling loop devices.

That changes the equation of what will and won't work, considerably.

http://www.info-techs.com/ademco/fil...n/41xmptii.pdf
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-19, 05:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Hi, the previous owner is long gone, so that is not an option right now. Its an OLD alarm. If it works and keyboards can be replaced it will be an easy and cheap solution.
but if it is too complicated he is probably better with a complete new one.
Thanks!!!
 
  #5  
Old 06-25-19, 05:29 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,093
Upvotes Received: 21
The keypads compatible with this model are long discontinued. Short of a lucky find on something like Ebay, there's no replacements. The modern keypad models aren't compatible.
 
  #6  
Old 06-25-19, 08:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 898
Upvotes Received: 11
Depending on how many zones are being used, and, as MrRonFL said, whether the old polling loop devices are used in zone expansion _and_ whether wireless sensors are involved---depending on all that, replacing it with a modern Ademco/Honeywell Vista Panel might be your best bet.

But before we get into specific recommendations, is there a zone list somewhere? Do you know how many zones and the zone numbers of those zones. Be aware that if there is, for example, a Zone 50 (Zone #50), that doesn't necessarily mean that there are 50 zones, just that one zone is designated as Zone #50. That's why a Zone List is important.

Have you looked inside the control panel's (NOT the keypad's) steel cabinet for a list? Can you identify any peripheral devices, other than keypads, that might be in or near the Control Cabinet? Model numbers of those devices can tell us a lot about what you'd need for a replacement panel.
Are there wires connected to Control Panel Terminals 24 & 25. If so, can you follow the wires to a peripheral device and identify it (model number)?

Alarm systems, by their nature, are all customized---seldom any two alike---and it's a lot easier to make recommendations if we know what you have on site. Your brother's system might just be using the 9 on-board zones or less, and it might be easy to switch it out with just a Control & Keypads replacement; or, it might be more elaborate and need a higher-end Panel and other stuff replaced to get it working. We won't know until we know what's there.
 
  #7  
Old 06-26-19, 05:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Thanks for all your help.

From the pictures attached it looks like it is using terminals 24 & 25. There is a 4208 box. There is another box with what looks like a single antenna.

I am going to be visiting him in the next couple of weeks and was trying to see if I can help him, but it looks it will need a replacement system and that is a work for a pro.

Thanks again!!!
 
Attached Images   
  #8  
Old 06-26-19, 12:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 898
Upvotes Received: 11
The good news is that it looks like much of it is hardwired. The hardwiring in an alarm system never becomes obsolete and is compatible with all professional-grade systems, old and new. I recommend you find a company that uses Honeywell/Ademco equipment, and upgrade within the same brand. Your wireless devices will need to be upgraded too, but you may not need to replace the polling loop devices. Ademco (now Honeywell) has the industry's best record for making its equipment back-compatible.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes