Upgrading Vista AT 4140 to V20P (without any experience)

Old 07-15-19, 05:56 PM
Upgrading Vista AT 4140 to V20P (without any experience)

I'm doing a lot of reading (and thank you so much to all the great contributors here) and trying to decide if embarking on a self-upgrade of a 4140 (not XMP) to a V20P and adding in a couple new 6160V consoles is a manageable undertaking for someone with zero experience in alarms or low-voltage work. I have plenty of experience programming devices (FPGA, processors, etc..) but I don't think that'll come in handy too much here.

The panel was installed in 1989 and is hardwired to a number of IR sensors, smoke/heat alarms, door contacts and has 9 zones (attaching photos). It's been unplugged since we moved in. I've found a good post on taking over the system and plan to do that, validate all is working well (it was active as of a few months ago), and then do the upgrade.

My main goals in doing this are to 1) enable voice announcement of a specific door being opened (have a toddler and a pool..), 2) enable remote / mobile arming and disarming. I'm not planning on monitoring at the moment.

Question #1 - Is this feasible given very little experience with alarms and low-voltage work?
Question #2 - My hope is that this is pretty close to "label all the wires, replace the board with V20P, put the wires back according to the labels, reprogram zones, etc..".. how far off am I?

If this is is a fools-errand, perhaps someone could point my to a decent installer in the Chicago area who would work with me to do this, rather than sell me on some expensive, proprietary stuff..

Thanks!

Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
Old 07-15-19, 07:03 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Upvotes Received: 21
Well, you have one critical thing already sorted our. You have a clear list of what the existing zones are. The hardest thing about doing this, especially with a dead system is getting that information.