DSC 1832 Motion Sensor Replacement

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-31-19, 05:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DSC 1832 Motion Sensor Replacement

I have a DSC 1832 alarm system.

One of the motion sensors is no longer reliably working (it detects when I enter only about 20% of the time).
My thought was to replace the motion sensor with one purchased online, but I am concerned that there may be a programming element to complete this procedure.

Can I just swap out the motion sensor with a similar DSC sensor?

Thank you for your help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-31-19, 06:24 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,296
Received 36 Votes on 35 Posts
Wired or wireless? Makes a difference in process.
 
Northern Mike voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 08-01-19, 10:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The system is wired.

Thank you.
 
  #4  
Old 08-01-19, 05:06 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,296
Received 36 Votes on 35 Posts
Easy peasy.

Open the old one up, take the wires loose from their connectons making note as to which ones are on the power terminals, and being careful to not short the power wires to anything else, or each other. Put a bit of electrical tape on the exposed copper. Also, make note if there is a resistor installed on the zone wires, or not.

Dismount the old device, install the new one and reconnect the power and zone wires. Close it up, and you are done.

Wired motions are just fancy relays. There's no brains, nothing to program.
 
Northern Mike voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 08-05-19, 01:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for your guidance. I will give it a shot.
 
  #6  
Old 08-06-19, 11:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,739
Received 16 Votes on 15 Posts
I might be a little late to the game here, but generally from experience, failed motions (depending on brands) tend to give false positives more often than not giving a reading.

This is all make/model dependent, but what I have seen is the main board slide down inside, making the viewing range higher up. If you open the sensor, look on the right or left of the board for a marking that will read 2-1-0-1-2 or similar. Moving the board up will make the sensing area lower. Moving the board down will make the sensing area higher. If the screw was not tight enough, over time, it can fall.
Also note that some units (DSC wireless and Bravo6 and others) will have a sensitivity jumper for normal or harsh settings. They could be set to harsh which will be less active than some would expect.

I was an alarm tech for the past 4 years. Seen some interesting motion sensor issues.
 
  #7  
Old 08-12-19, 11:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Mike, thanks for the feedback. I will take a look at that.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: