Wiring to smoke detector

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-17-19, 06:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring to smoke detector

Hi, I'm trying to reinstall a smoke detector and, when I take it off, it appears as though the yellow and black wires are both connected to the power source, but the white one isn't. I fished around a bit in the interior and don't see another white wire although maybe I need to pull all wires out. Is it possible that this was running on two wires or must there be another white wire for it to operate properly?

Thanks for any help,

Matt
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-18-19, 12:22 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,548
Received 409 Votes on 384 Posts
There must be three wires.

White = neutral
Black = hot
Yellow = audible interconnect
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-19, 07:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great Pete, thanks for the response on this.

-Matt
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: