Prewired Home but no actual system installed - looking to DIY

Old 05-28-20, 06:51 AM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Prewired Home but no actual system installed - looking to DIY

Hi All!

We moved into a new house that was built in 2017 and it appears to have a prewired system but no actual system - meaning there appear to be wired window and door transmitters, wires ran for motion or glass break, and for 2 keypads. All of these wires run into the master closet and just have a simple wall plate covering it. I'm looking at installing myself the Honeywell Ademco Vista 20p With 6160 Keypad Version: 9.12 Alarm Kit that's available on Amazon.

I have a couple of questions for the group that I would love help on:
The window transmitters look to have a piece missing - at least from my perspective the other half is not installed (see pic). I'm not a professional but in our old house and what I've seen in the past, there are always 2 pieces to the transmitters. I'm asking because it's a newer house and there might be some new transmitter I'm not aware of and if they are indeed missing how can I get the other half without having to rewire or go wireless?

Also, and known issues with the Honeywell model listed above? I consider myself pretty tech-savvy and handy, but am I getting in over my head? Install videos I've seen seem fairly easy and I'm willing to put in the time.

Thank you all for your help and feedback!

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 05-28-20, 07:32 AM
M
Received 135 Votes on 125 Posts
See the below
https://www.aartech.ca/vip88/flair-s...ads-white.html

I just Googled "flair vip88 windows sensors"

Open the windows and check that they have not mounted the magnet inside the window frame.
Looks like the magnet unit or a new sensor with magnet are cheap so you could get the sensor and just not use the magnetic switch.

Unless they are marked you will have to figure out what wires go where.

Old 05-28-20, 09:54 AM
R