DSC PC1832 Fire Zone Programming

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-28-20, 07:24 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DSC PC1832 Fire Zone Programming

I have a DSC PC1832 alarm panel with 3 System Sensor 2012JA 4-wire smoke detectors. I want each smoke on a different zone.

Here is how they are programmed:

Zone 7- 2nd floor smoke
Zone Definition: 08 24Hr fire
Red Wire - AUX+ on panel
Black Wire - PGM 1 on panel
Green Wire - COM on panel
White Wire - Zone 7 on panel
PGM 1 programmed as 03-Sensor Reset

Zone 9- main floor smoke
Zone Definition: 08 24Hr fire
Red Wire - AUX+ on panel
Black Wire - PGM 2 on panel
Green Wire - COM on panel
White Wire - Zone 9 on zone expander
PGM 2 programmed as 03-Sensor Reset

Zone 11- Basement smoke
Zone Definition: 08 24Hr fire
Red Wire - AUX+ on panel
Black Wire - PGM 3 on panel
Green Wire - COM on panel
White Wire - Zone 11 on panel
PGM 3 programmed as 03-Sensor Reset

5.6K resistor is between NO and COM on the smokes

Zone 7 smoke is fine, but zone 9 and 11 go into immediate alarm everytime. Why?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-29-20, 03:00 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,539
Received 74 Votes on 70 Posts
A percentage of these power up with the relay toggled. If you enter silence and reset command, does everything settle at system normal?
 
  #3  
Old 06-29-20, 04:05 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It does restore for 30 seconds or so, and then goes back into alarm.
 
  #4  
Old 06-29-20, 05:02 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,539
Received 74 Votes on 70 Posts
Basic test: Put the EOL just on the zone wires. Do you get an alarm? If so, then there is an issue with your field wiring, if not, then your detector relay may have an issue.

With power applied to the detector, but nothing connected to the relay terminals, are you getting a short/low ohms from common to NO?
 
  #5  
Old 06-29-20, 08:05 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I took the zone wires right off the expander and put a resistor across zone 9 and common. No fire alarm but iy says the zone is open. This was previously a wireless motion zone, but I checked section 109 and only 1 is on. I checked 804 and the wireless esn is 000000. Is it because i have a smoke on pgm 1, 2, and 3? That should be fine as long as they are all programmed as sensor reset
 
  #6  
Old 06-29-20, 08:12 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I took the zone wires right off the expander and put a resistor across zone 9 and common. No fire alarm but it says the zone is open. Even after a *72.

This was previously a wireless motion zone, but I checked section 109 and only 1 is on. I checked 804 and the wireless esn is 000000. Is it because i have a smoke on pgm 1, 2, and 3? That should be fine as long as they are all programmed as sensor reset
 
  #7  
Old 06-30-20, 02:34 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,539
Received 74 Votes on 70 Posts
The configuration of the PGMs has nothing to do with the zone configuration. If your zone is staying open with a resistor jumping it out, and no field wiring; then something is wrong with either the zone input itself, or the zone programming.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: