NETWORX 148 (6SE) "EXPANDER WIRELESS JAM" report

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-30-20, 01:44 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
NETWORX 148 (6SE) "EXPANDER WIRELESS JAM" report

Hello,

Since a week ago I receice the following report "EXPANDER WIRELESS JAM(device 0))" on my ultrasync app. On my keypad *2 it's almost the same report.
After a some attempts to arm (4 to 6 times) the system accepts ARMING. Immediately I receive a report " WIRELESS JAM RESTORE device 0) followed instantly by again by "EXPANDER WIRELESS JAM(device 0))"
It's driving me nuts as you can understand

Where to look, how to resolve permanently, that's the question

Please help me fixing this, THXSSS
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-01-20, 09:41 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,585
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
It means that there is some RF interference present. Have you made any recent changes, like an upgrade to your WiFi router; new bi-directional wireless devices; or even something as odd as installing any large mirrors?

This is something that is nearly always environmental. Once in a blue moon, it's the receiver starting to fail, but that's pretty rare.
 
  #3  
Old 07-03-20, 06:13 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thxs RonFL
I am aware of those factors but they don' t play a roll. I've checked. The report remains: "EXPANDER RF JAMMING" ( device 0). Strange isn't?
 
  #4  
Old 07-03-20, 05:47 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,585
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
Short of bringing an RF analyzer to determine what is causing interference in the 319 mHz range; the most likely explanation is that the RF receiver is starting to fail. You _can_ turn off the jam detection feature, and if all the transmitters work correctly, then it's most likely an RF harmonic "ghost". I have yet to find a deliberate jamming attempt on a residential system.
 
  #6  
Old 07-04-20, 10:19 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MrRonFL,
Wouldvit be an idea to do a hard reset ( power shutdown incl battery)?
 
  #7  
Old 07-04-20, 02:19 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,585
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
A power cycle never (well, rarely) hurts.

The RF jam detection can be turned off in the receiver options programming location (the specific is dependent on the specific receiver model). It's not part of the main system programming.

Generally a specific transmitter malfunction produces a zone specific trouble. There is a test function built in (again, varies a bit depending on receiver model).
 
  #8  
Old 07-04-20, 11:47 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thxs MrRonFL
I will first do the power cycle test. Thxs again. Keep you informed
 
  #9  
Old 07-05-20, 10:36 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do I need to use the master code or installer code to do the power cycle reset?
 
  #10  
Old 07-06-20, 02:22 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,585
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
You just disconnect it from ac power and the backup battery.

You reset the clock with the master code.
 
  #11  
Old 07-06-20, 09:45 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MrRonFL,
"Just disconnect" resulted in a avalanche of Sirensound😒. Logical ofcourse but jeez what a noise. After a mastercode reset I did the "job" but IMit didn't work! Wireless jam report was in 30 sec back in its logbook position😗😗. Is it time fior an expert?
 
  #12  
Old 07-06-20, 02:45 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,585
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
Some configurations can sound the siren on power up.

Yes, at this point you need to determine if your problem is environmental, or if your receiver is failing.
 
  #13  
Old 07-07-20, 09:49 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Mr
RonFL

Thxs again for your help, I really apprecate this.
I will go the specialist. My tries aren't working for me.

 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: