z-wave thermostat, remote control

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-14-20, 09:43 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
z-wave thermostat, remote control

My z-wave thermostat was installed at the same time as my cellular home security system. I do not want to renew the central monitoring contract, but I want to maintain remote control of my thermostat via iPhone app. The only thing I know about z-wave is that it needs a controller or hub in order to work. Im assuming the controller is somehow provided through the security system can you please explain how that works? If the security system is not linked to a central monitoring service, what needs to be done, or what equipment installed, in order to maintain remote control of the thermostat? Thank you.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-14-20, 09:54 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,710
Received 920 Votes on 860 Posts
The first thing we need to know is the make and model number of the thermostat.
We may be able to recommend a hub to use since you'll be losing the monitoring connection.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 07-14-20 at 10:55 PM.
  #3  
Old 07-15-20, 07:36 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is a Z Wave Plus from Alarm.com. The model number is: B36-T10 RB.

Thank you for responding.
 
  #4  
Old 07-15-20, 10:56 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,710
Received 920 Votes on 860 Posts
Building 36 is an alarm(.)com company. That is the company that built your thermostat. I see a standalone gateway but I don't see it available for sale on the open market. I'm still checking.

Building 36 gateway
General info

Based on the price of this device..... it may be more cost effective to replace the stat with a new wifi model. We can help you with the wiring. Ecobee is good replacement.

On edit:
I found the current standalone gateway for Building 36 devices. You can see it in the pdf in the link. As I figured.... the price is high.

Building 36 Ethernet gateway (pdf)
 
Novice2020 voted this post useful.

Last edited by PJmax; 07-15-20 at 11:06 AM. Reason: .
  #5  
Old 07-15-20, 01:55 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 74
Received 6 Votes on 5 Posts
A smartthings hub will connect to your thermostat. You can find them on eBay for about 30 or so and I think you can get new for about 60.
 
Novice2020 voted this post useful.
  #6  
Old 07-15-20, 02:34 PM
D
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
If your computer has a wireless network You can install a Honeywell thermostat that you can access with a smartphone app. Check with your Gas and Electric provider . The utilities providers often give a rebate of up to $100.00 if you let them periodically shut down your AC during high demand times. The shutdown duration is usually 20 minutes or less. The cost of these WIFI thermostats start around $100.00. I have had one in my home for about 3 - 4 years and i have never noticed when the AC was shutdown. The smartphone App allows you to control your thermostat from anywhere that WIFI is available.
 
Novice2020 voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 07-15-20, 03:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,710
Received 920 Votes on 860 Posts
Some utilities offer rebates on thermostats.
Some utilities offer a discount if you allow them to shut your A/C down during peak demands but as far as I know... it's not done thru the thermostat. They will usually install a small cellular modem outside near the condenser.
 
Novice2020 voted this post useful.
  #8  
Old 07-16-20, 11:45 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just a quick note of appreciation to everyone who responded. I am looking into each of your suggestions. More questions will likely follow, but in the meantime, I wanted to thank you for pointing me in the right direction.


 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: