Programming Wireless Sensor on Caddx Networx NX-6

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-18-20, 12:45 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Programming Wireless Sensor on Caddx Networx NX-6

I am at a loss on how to add an additional wireless sensor
The wireless card in the NX-6 is a 60-732 wireless receiver dip switches are set to 35

Master Bath Window zone 18
I have older older wireless sensor pictures are attached.

Thanks in advance


 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-20-20, 03:16 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
That's a NX-408/416/448 (most likely a 416 on a NX-6)
Installer manual: http://alarmhow.net/manuals/UTC/CADD...%20Rev%20E.pdf

The replacement you need is a NX-650N: https://static.interlogix.com/librar...%20REV%20E.pdf

You need to know what you next available zone is. Since you have the LCD keypad, hopefully your existing zones all have descriptions programmed, and the next available will have no description. Your system has a maximum of 16 total zones.

Do you know if you have a NX-6 or a NX-6V2? There are small, but important, configuration differences.
 
  #3  
Old 07-20-20, 03:35 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
'Programming Wireless Sensor on Caddx Networx NX-6'



 
  #4  
Old 07-20-20, 03:42 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I maybe mistaken regarding NX-6 since it was stamped on the alarm box.

I have added a few additional photos that some of the modules have an NX8 ..... on them., so possible I have an NX-8?

The zone I want to add is 18 since that was marked on the certification zone information
 
  #5  
Old 07-20-20, 03:48 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
On one of the chips reads NX8 Editon BDF7 (FCF1)

Also see a UL marking on the board, S-4018

Thanks for your help
 
  #6  
Old 07-20-20, 05:49 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
How many physical zone inputs are on the main board? A NX-6 has 6 physical zone inputs.
 
  #7  
Old 07-20-20, 06:03 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is a strip on the side of the card, states zone 1 - zone 8

 
  #8  
Old 07-20-20, 06:22 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
Ok, that simplifies things. Someone swapped out the board, somewhere along the line. You have a NX-8.

Next question. Do you know the installer code?

Fairly easy test if you don't: key in *8 9713. That's the factory default. If it works you will jump into programming. If so just hit the exit key until you exit key until you are back to normal run mode, and let us know.

NX-8 installer manual: http://islandsecurity.com/manuals/GEnetworks_nx8.pdf
 
  #9  
Old 07-20-20, 06:54 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes *8 9713. works stated enter device address
backed out


 
  #10  
Old 07-21-20, 02:14 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
You are in good shape, then. Once you have your replacement/new device it should be fairly simple to walk you through the process.
 
  #11  
Old 07-21-20, 08:35 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a wireless sensor , same as pictured, I just need help with the commands adding it back into the system.

 
  #12  
Old 07-21-20, 10:11 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wireless Receiver

The wireless card in the NX-8 is a 60-732
I really appreciate you taking the time to help me out.

 
  #13  
Old 07-21-20, 02:34 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
Are yo replacing, or adding? If the fomer, the process is a little different. If the latter, have you worked out what the next unused zone number is.
 
  #14  
Old 07-21-20, 02:48 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
'Programming Wireless Sensor on Caddx Networx NX-8

I am adding , I would like to use zone 18 if possible . I believe zone 18 was once used but had been deleted
since it was noted on my zone list for master bedroom from previous owners.
 
  #15  
Old 07-21-20, 04:18 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
*8 [installer code]
35#
49# (sensor learn)
18* (select the zone you are putting the transmitter on)
Trip the transmitter by opening the battery cover
press * to save
Press exit twice to get out of programming.
If this was a location that was previously programmed, odds are that all of the zone programming is still in place, since it sounds like a basic perimeter zone.
 
  #16  
Old 07-21-20, 05:10 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
'Programming Wireless Sensor on Caddx Networx NX-8

Thanks, Does the wireless door detector and magnet need to be in place before I program?
 
  #17  
Old 07-21-20, 05:48 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
No, for this transmitter, the tamper switch under the cover is the enrolling trigger, so it can be in your hands, and the magnet doesn't matter.
 
  #18  
Old 07-21-20, 07:00 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
'Programming Wireless Sensor on Caddx Networx NX-8

Is there a command on the keypad that will list all the zones so I can validate the list I have is accurate.
 
  #19  
Old 07-22-20, 02:32 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
You just use the arrow keys next to the display. If you have zone descriptors programmed, it will show the status of each zone.

User manual: https://static.interlogix.com/library/NX148EUC05.pdf
 
  #20  
Old 07-22-20, 09:21 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
'Programming Wireless Sensor on Caddx Networx NX-8

When I used the arrow keys it only shows me a description if a zone is in fault. IE: Kitchen Window

I have an emergency so I will let you know the results of the task of adding a transmitter when I get back.
The info you provide is very much appreciated.
 
  #21  
Old 07-22-20, 07:49 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
Sorry, the command is on page 11 of the keypad user manual. Press * then press the up arrow to view the zones.
 
  #22  
Old 07-26-20, 01:11 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
'Programming Wireless Sensor on Caddx Networx NX-8

I enter the following
*8 9713
35#
49#
11*

I trip the transmitter by opening cover

nothing happens - I'm left at Enter Location then # 49 and * has no effect

not sure what I am doing wrong,
also when I perform * then press up arrow zone 11 & 18 display okay , but either has been learned, I am not receiving fault indicator so I have not placed on window
batteries are good
 

Last edited by Westcoast; 07-26-20 at 01:43 PM.
  #23  
Old 07-26-20, 02:50 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
I'm wondering if something is already programmed into that slot.
*8 [installer code]
35#
11#
If there is already something programmed into that slot option 1 will be ON.
Press[1] to delete that transmitter, or press * # to exit that location so you can check a different one.

It's possible that you have transmitters programmed that don't have descriptors programmed into the keypad.

Have you read through the manual for the receiver?
 
  #24  
Old 07-26-20, 03:05 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
'Programming Wireless Sensor on Caddx Networx NX-8

-2--5-7-

11# display. I spoke mistakenly , when I swapped out the battery with one I had, indicator battery low

would this be the problem? I just purchased a new battery online regardless
I have read the manual , understood some but not all
 
  #25  
Old 07-26-20, 03:09 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
Looks like it never enrolled. A dead battery would do that.

The manual for these receivers actually are some of the more poorly written I've seen, and I work with a _lot_ of system manuals. The critical info is from page 10 on...
 
  #26  
Old 07-26-20, 03:16 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
'Programming Wireless Sensor on Caddx Networx NX-8

Okay , when the battery arrives I try again.

So normally
*8 9713
35#
49#
11*
It is normal to go back to 49 once 11* is entered?
 
  #27  
Old 07-26-20, 03:45 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
Yes, but you should hear a chime from the keypad when it enrolls.
 
  #28  
Old 07-26-20, 03:50 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
okay, so I assume it never enrolled is the reason , when pressing * I did not hear a beep or any indication that it saved.
.
I'll let you know the outcome once the new battery is received.

 
  #29  
Old 07-27-20, 10:48 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
'Programming Wireless Sensor on Caddx Networx NX-8

MrRonFL

once I receive the new battery and am successful entrolling the new wireless sensor is there anything else I would need to do before installing the wireless and magnet on the window to ensure when the window is opened is will fault.

Thanks

 
  #30  
Old 07-27-20, 02:38 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
You can test it with the magnet, in hand, if you like. Saves a bit of running around. if the window is a basic perimeter, the default zone type (6) should be just fine.
 
  #31  
Old 07-31-20, 02:42 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
'Programming Wireless Sensor on Caddx Networx NX-8

MrRonFL
I received the battery today, programed and worked like a charm.
Now I need to purchase additional batteries and install the other two wireless sensors.


Thanks for your help

 
  #32  
Old 08-12-20, 03:52 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MrRonFL
I am having trouble trying to learn my last wireless sensor.
I am trying to add zone 10 but system is not detecting the sensor. Currently -2--5-7-

I tried with three different wireless sensors, but am not having any luck

The battery is new, and tested , no issues there.
Any ideas.

Thanks in advance
 
  #33  
Old 08-12-20, 04:24 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
If you are following the steps as before, the only logical conclusion is that you have a bad transmitter.
 
  #34  
Old 08-12-20, 04:29 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I guess I have 3 bad wireless sensors. I'll buy another one and hopefully that will solve the problem

Possible any other issue that could cause problem of learning, I know they all worked at one time and were stored
 
  #35  
Old 08-12-20, 04:51 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
The second law of thermodynamics hasn't been repealed. Electronics can degrade from just sitting.
 
  #36  
Old 08-12-20, 04:55 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks MrRonFL,
I'll check out ebay and get back to you when I receive another sensor with the results
 

Last edited by Westcoast; 08-12-20 at 05:23 PM.
  #37  
Old 08-12-20, 05:24 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I forgot to inquire , the sensors I have are 60-362 319.5 Door/Window Sensors

Will a Interlogix Door/Window Sensor 60-362N-10-319.5 work as well?
I don't know the difference between a
60-632N & a 60-362

Thanks
 
  #38  
Old Yesterday, 02:26 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,594
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
Yes, it's just a newer model. They haven't changed the basic RF protocal for these, in decades.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: