Vista 40 gives spurious door open beeps

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-20-20, 03:56 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Vista 40 gives spurious door open beeps

Our house has wired sensors and one door occasionally/momentarily alarms as open when it is closed. A few months later, another one started doing the same thing. The others are fortunately OK.

I've disabled those zones but am wondering if there is something I can look at via the 6660 keypad. Or should I just replace the recessed 3/8" sensors?

The mainboard is a SA4142-4AD and has a 4208U expander attached

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-20-20, 04:20 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,748
Received 103 Votes on 95 Posts
Check the door contacts, also check to make sure that the door hasn't warped or settled in the frame so that the contacts aren't well aligned. The "sweet spot" for this type of contact is surprisingly narrow. New contacts might help.

The programming is highly unlikely to be part of this issue, or _all_ of the openings on the zone would be doing this.
 
  #3  
Old 11-20-20, 04:41 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Both door alignments seem flush.

I was hoping that the keypads would display some diagnostic information! And it looks like I have the 6139 Alpha keypads.

Would pulling out the sensor(s) and shorting the wires tell me something useful?

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 11-20-20, 04:59 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,748
Received 103 Votes on 95 Posts
Wired door contacts are just switches. They are open or closed. There's nothing that the alarm control can test, other than those two states.

Removing the contact(s) and twisting the pair of wires closed will tell you if the problem is with the structure wiring, or if it's just a failed contact switch. They are just magnetic switches with the switch part being the size of a coarse hair... They do wear out.
 
  #5  
Old 11-20-20, 05:19 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I twisted the wires closed but the system still thinks the door is open :-(

I saw that the alarm cabinet also has a 5881EN RF Receiver. It might be easier hardware wise to add wireless contact sensors instead of fixing the structure wiring which runs in a very "shallow" unfinished attic but I don't know how hard it is to do the programming

Also, can multiple wireless sensors be used in a zone?

Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 11-20-20, 05:27 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,748
Received 103 Votes on 95 Posts
Each wireless transmitter is it's own zone.

The odds are that it's just a failed contact switch. Really cheap fix.

Getting the old one out is the hardest part of the exercise.

Vista 40 installer manual: http://www.alarmhow.net/manuals/Adem...n%20Manual.pdf

Vista 40 programming form: http://site.aesecurity.com/Manuals/v40programming.pdf
 
  #7  
Old 11-20-20, 06:01 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the links.

It was hard getting the switch out! Doesn't the short/open experiment with the wire ends eliminate the switch as the problem?

The zone question was because one of the zones is two wired sensors on French double doors.
 
  #8  
Old 11-20-20, 06:37 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,748
Received 103 Votes on 95 Posts
I missed that you had tried closing the contact points.

That does sound like you have wiring issues somewhere in the structure. So, wireless may be a viable solution.

The 5816 transmitter can be configured use wired inputs to monitor multiple adjacent openings, but you would still have to install that wiring. It may be simpler to just use two transmitters.
 
  #9  
Old 11-20-20, 09:36 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm reasonably technical, have done nothing with alarm systems, but am willing to take a chance and try integrating a wireless sensor into the system.

Which one? The 5816 looks inexpensive on Amazon but I'm open to advice. Long battery life is a plus :-)

Thanks
 

Last edited by unmesh59; 11-20-20 at 09:55 PM.
  #10  
Old 11-20-20, 10:45 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,043
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
Which specific zones (Zone numbers) are giving you trouble? If the zone number(s) is/are greater than 9, then they're taken off the 4208U and that would be an easy check to see if there's a loose connection on corresponding screw terminals. If the zone number(s) is/are 9 or less, you can check the Vista-40 panel corresponding screw terminals for a loose connection. Sometimes it's just that simple.
 
  #11  
Old 11-20-20, 11:33 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I hope so! Zones are 04 and 16

I will try to find the documentation for the corresponding terminals tomorrow

Thanks
 

Last edited by unmesh59; 11-21-20 at 12:00 AM. Reason: Formatting
  #12  
Old 11-21-20, 08:06 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,748
Received 103 Votes on 95 Posts
On the main board, zone 4 is the wires on terminals 15 & 16. On the expander, zone 4 is the pair on terminals 11 & 12

http://www.agm.com.co/files/products/33/I-4208U.pdf
 
  #13  
Old 11-21-20, 01:37 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Zone 4 terminals 15 and 16 seem to be solidly connected on the mainboard

Two pairs of sensor wires are involved and connected like this:

Pair 1 red to terminal 15
Pair 1 green crimped to pair 2 red
Pair 2 green through resistor to terminal 16

I tried shorting terminals 15 and 16 but that did not change the alarm state

I then disconnected the wire from terminal 15; still no state change
 
  #14  
Old 11-21-20, 01:54 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,748
Received 103 Votes on 95 Posts
The resistor has to be in the closed circuit from zone wire to common.
 
  #15  
Old 11-21-20, 06:19 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Keeping the resistor in the closed circuit did change the state of the alarm!

It looks like the two sensors on the two halves of the doors have been put in series at the panel and not at the door frame and I need to do some continuity testing to see if at least one of the wire pairs is fine.

And to unscrew the expander and check the terminals of interest on its board.

Thanks.
 
  #16  
Old 11-21-20, 06:48 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I also tested Zone 16 which is terminals 11 and 12 on the expander. Again, closing the circuit at the terminals or the exposed wire near the terminal changed the state of the alarm but shorting the wires at the sensor didn't.
 
  #17  
Old 11-21-20, 07:09 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,748
Received 103 Votes on 95 Posts
The plus side, is they ran individual pairs to the control location. Makes isolating bad wires, contacts a _little_ easier, once you understand that they are just dumb switches.

The wire used for most security installs is pretty light, and failed wiring in the building is a not uncommon problem.
 
  #18  
Old 11-21-20, 07:34 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
House is 20 years old.

I think I have a tone generator somewhere and could take a stab at tracing the wires though these sensors are in outside doors, we don't have a real attic and our roof has a shallow rake. If that is a lost cause, what wireless sensor would you guys recommend as an alternative?

Thanks.
 

Last edited by unmesh59; 11-21-20 at 08:45 PM.
  #19  
Old 11-22-20, 10:14 AM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was able to confirm that, of the two pairs in one of the zones, one has continuity and so I will bypass the other one for now. The installer did not leave much slack and I'm wondering if the Dolphin splicing connectors can be opened up or if I have to snip it off and possibly add in a short length of wire
 
  #20  
Old 11-22-20, 11:09 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,748
Received 103 Votes on 95 Posts
Careful pinching with a pair of pliers can uncrimp one of those connectors, but it's sometimes less aggravating to snip the thing off. They did a crimp on the leads from the contact, it's easier to cut them at the base of the contact and replace the contact with a model that has screw terminals instead of wire leads.
 
  #21  
Old 11-22-20, 01:38 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Of the adjacent two sensor wire pairs, I figured out which one had continuity and which one was open. The weird thing is that with the tone generator and prober, it is able to identify the wire pair at the far end!

I will buy the screw terminal based contacts for where the wires seem to be fine.

Any recommendation for wireless?

Thanks
 

Last edited by unmesh59; 11-22-20 at 02:30 PM. Reason: Typos
  #22  
Old 11-22-20, 03:24 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I bypassed the open wire pair using Wago lever nuts until I can buy the crimp on connectors so one of the zones is working for practical purposes since you have to open the alarmed door before you can open the other one.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: