Vista 20p problems: siren buzzing, low batt

Old 04-06-21, 10:14 AM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Vista 20p problems: siren buzzing, low batt

Dear all, thanks in advance for your help. I have two issues with my Vista 20p, but first some context:

I've been using a Vista 21iP for the past 5 years with no problems. Not leaving the house for many months, we have now started to venture out (hooray for vaccines!) and realized our TC Connect 2.0 app doesn't work. Long story short, we realized the in-built comms function in the 21iP was not working.

As such, I migrated from the 21iP to a 20p with a standalone communicator, which allows both cell and internet access. I did the migration and it works well for the most part. Communicator works well and is now synced with TC Connect 2.0. Here's my problems now:
1. The sirens emit a low level, high frequency buzz. Sounds like white noise. This seems to be caused by a 2.5V DC potential between the two siren output terminals 3 and 4. This is not a true alarm - that works fine - but this occurs 24/7 constantly even when disarmed. I've confirmed all the connections are correct... I've confirmed this is not due to the communicator, since disconnecting the communicator and/or switching it off does not affect the buzzing.
2. There is a Low System Batt warning that won't go away. I've waited the 4+ hours and it is still present. The battery measures fine - it's at 12.9V unloaded and 13.5V under charge. Looks healthy to me...

Anyway, would love your advice and help. Thanks in advance.

Robert

Old 04-06-21, 11:58 AM
C
Received 71 Upvotes on 64 Posts
1) When you measure the 2.5 VDC between T3 & T4,, is that with the siren wires connected or disconnected? In other words, is the 2.5 VDC originating from the Panel or from the siren wires? Sometimes long wire runs can pick up inducted voltages.