ADT wipe system?


  #1  
Old 09-28-21, 04:39 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
ADT wipe system?

We have a Honeywell Ademco 15p or 20p panel with a Safewatch 3000 6160 keypad. I cancelled ADT and the system seemed normal for the next day after the service was discontinued. While investigating the keypad, I inadvertently disconnected the power wire and data wire, immediately connecting them back in.
Now the keypad is blank other than the backlit keypad. Tried to do a soft panel reset by cutting power, but when I reapply power, still nothing on the keypad.

Does this mean ADT wiped the system and I need to do a hard reset to reprogram? The goal is to do local alarm only. Another thought is that I accidentally touched power + data wires, potentially shorting something?

Any advice is appreciated!
 
  #2  
Old 09-28-21, 06:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,497
Received 4,056 Upvotes on 3,639 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

If you interrupt data when the panel is running it can scramble the system.

To reset...... remove both AC power and battery power. Wait 10 seconds.
Reconnect battery first and then the 16.5vac.
 
  #3  
Old 09-29-21, 03:20 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,589
Received 314 Upvotes on 289 Posts
And if the controlled reboot doesn't do the trick, there's a pretty good chance you nuked the keypad. Hot disconnects/reconnects on almost any system keypad has a chance of irreversible damage to the keypad, the main board, or both.
 
  #4  
Old 10-22-21, 08:26 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Is there anyway to test for a fried keypad? I could buy a new one but if the main board is also fried then I might not be up for reprogramming the system to keep local alarm function.
 
  #5  
Old 10-23-21, 06:20 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,589
Received 314 Upvotes on 289 Posts
The only real way to test the keypad is to hook it up to a known working alarm control of the same model.
 
  #6  
Old 10-24-21, 08:22 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for answering! 2 more questions/ideas:
Is there a way I can test the integrity of the main board without a working keypad?
I have an ADT Safewatch pro 3000 keypad that is alpha numeric. Do you think I could swap the internals of a 6160 with my keypad's internals so that it looks the same on the outside? Sounds like nonsense I'm sure, just looking for opinions. I'm nervous about buying an eBay Safewatch pro 3000 because I can't verify if it's 6150 or 6160.
 

Last edited by KC_kid; 10-24-21 at 09:17 PM.
  #7  
Old 10-25-21, 02:16 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,589
Received 314 Upvotes on 289 Posts
Same issue. It's a _system_. You need at least one of the components to be known to be functional to figure out what's going on. For the purpose of checking the main board, it really doesn't matter if it's a 6150 or 6160 keypad; but if you are programming from scratch, you definitely need the 6160.
 
  #8  
Old 02-20-22, 11:08 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It appears I did in fact zap the keypad. I picked up a used 6160 on eBay for $40 and now my system is going again. I unplugged the cell dialer and Pulse internet interface, then followed some instructions to determine and change the Installer code. I can now use the system for local alarm only, which was the goal!
Thanks for helping my through this!!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: