Expanding a DSC 1832, cabinet space?


  #1  
Old 01-09-22, 10:34 AM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: United States
Posts: 32
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Expanding a DSC 1832, cabinet space?

I was totaling up the power budget on my DSC 1832 system and realizing as I add more sensors and communicators, I'm going to go flying past the rated supply current.
I obtained a 5204 module, but now realize it doesn't fit it in the original DSC "large" cabinet.
(It's too wide to fit on the side, and there's no room behind the battery for that large heat sink.)

It seems the only reasonable thing to do is to get an additional small cabinet, put it and the battery in there, but put it next the primary cabinet and run the additional sensor power wires into it.

Is my assessment reasonable? Any better ideas?
 
  #2  
Old 01-10-22, 02:36 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
Past a certain point, using an auxiliary cabinet is the only way to deal with added boards.
 
  #3  
Old 01-10-22, 05:06 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 1,233
Received 209 Upvotes on 183 Posts
Your decision to move some load to an auxiliary power supply is a good one. Many ignore ignore the power draw of "external" equipment. As electronics age, their specifications "drift" sometimes causing a reduction in available power.

Years ago I had a take-over customer that came with repeated alarm system issues. I found a large cabinet literally crammed full of high-output auxiliary power supplies. More cabinets had been added for batteries. I realized the problem as soon as I touched the cabinet; heat! A muffin fan with appropriate cabinet penetrations, reduced the heat and solved the heat problem (actually a symptom). It's strange to me, but there was all kinds of room to mount the power supplies externally; most of a 46 sheet of plywood.
 
  #4  
Old 01-11-22, 08:44 AM
D
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
If you get an empty DSC cabinet you will find that the expansion boards will snap into pre - drilled holes in the cabinet which gives the cabinets a more professional look.
 
  #5  
Old 01-28-22, 04:31 PM
D
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
The PC5204 module will fit in the upper left corner on the back of the DSC 1832 cabinet with room for zone expander modules on the left and right sides and back up battery on the bottom of the cabinet..
 
  #6  
Old 01-31-22, 02:09 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: United States
Posts: 32
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Thanks, I got a DSC small cabinet and a PC5204 I arranged it so I could run wires out the lower left knockout in the large cabinet directly into it below. I'm curious if there is a PGM setting that I can use for always on devices?
e.g. Motion sensors, CO alarms, wireless receivers
 
  #7  
Old 01-31-22, 02:29 PM
K
Member
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 64
Received 31 Upvotes on 27 Posts
Why would you use PGM output for that? Just connect them on AUX+ terminal of PC5204 board.
As for PGM output, you can program it as PGM Command output option 19, so you can turn PGM ON/OFF by pressing *7 1. It can be latch-type, and also inverted output so it defaults to enabled (because otherwise if you enter/exit the programming, all PGM statuses will be reset so you would need to enable command output again for PGM output became active again).
 
  #8  
Old 02-01-22, 11:44 AM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: United States
Posts: 32
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
The documentation is not very clear. There is an AUX+ terminal, but no designated "-" or common.
I guess BLK would work.

Also no ground terminal either.

Dave.
 
  #9  
Old 02-01-22, 05:46 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
The AUX lettering is actually between the + & - symbols, but in reality, all of the "common" terminals _and_ the AUX - are electrically bonded. Admittedly, the type is pretty tiny.
 
  #10  
Old 02-01-22, 08:20 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: United States
Posts: 32
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Ron, that's true on the main board, but on the PC5204 there are 12 terminals (from L to R)
AC, AC, AUX+ , RED, BLK, YEL, GRN, TAM, O1, O2, O3, O4
 
  #11  
Old 02-02-22, 02:27 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
From the instructions for the 5204: https://cms.dsc.com/download.php?t=1&id=16978
"Connect the positive lead of powered devices to AUX and the negative to the proper output terminal (O1 to O4)"
 
  #12  
Old 02-04-22, 08:52 AM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: United States
Posts: 32
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Ayup, On the standard panel, the Aux terminals are always on. But on the PC5204 there are only the O1-4 and PGMs only work as programmed. So I'm scratching my head wondering what PGM Output Option value do I put into section 011 to get always on from an On terminal?
 
  #13  
Old 02-04-22, 04:25 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
I would use command output 4 (22), Then turn OFF option 3 in the section 561-564 location corresponding to the terminal you are planning to use, to invert it to always on. As long as you don't use the *74 command, it should stay on.
 
  #14  
Old 02-06-22, 05:20 PM
K
Member
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 64
Received 31 Upvotes on 27 Posts
I wouldn't suggest using O1-O4 switched power for sensors od other modules which should be always ON.
Just connect positive to AUX+ terminal on PC5204 board and AUX- of devices to BLK terminal.
BLK, COM, AUX- is same on the whole system and connected together.
Also in manual its says to use AUX+ and BLK for powering additional modules (including motion detectors, etc).
There also exist PC5200 module which is the same as PC5204 but just doesnt have O1-O4 outputs, which is intended for powering additional always-on modules.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: