Liftmaster gate operator stops opening at night

Old 02-12-22, 05:52 AM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Liftmaster gate operator stops opening at night

I have a pretty new Liftmaster SL585 that seems to work perfectly during the day but stops opening every night and is driving me nuts. The gate will open and the reverse as though it is hitting an obstruction but there is nothing there. On the open there is one Liftmaster LMRRUL.

I have had a technician out multiple times but they seem clueless. My latest thoughs are maybe the cold weather at night is impacting the operation. The system has two photoelectric eyes and the green and white wires for both (heat?) are wired to the same terminals on the board.

If anyone has experience with these and would help me troubleshoot I would be very grateful. Thanks!

Old 02-12-22, 06:27 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 314 Upvotes on 289 Posts
Check the inside of the photobeam units for condensation. If you are having significant temperature swings from day to night, moisture _could_ be affecting it. Not knowing if you have actual loop detectors, that's what normally handles the obstruction detection.

If you don't have the installation manual with the troubleshooting guide, I recommend getting one while you can, because gate operator manufacturers routinely delete manuals for discontinued models.
https://d1j8pv6a7q833y.cloudfront.ne...20200203212758

Old 02-12-22, 07:58 AM
A
Check the inside of the photobeam units for condensation. If you are having significant temperature swings from day to night, moisture _could_ be affecting it. Not knowing if you have actual loop detectors, that's what normally handles the obstruction detection.