DSC 1832/PTK5507 - Incorrect Event description to Monitoring Company


  #1  
Old 04-15-24, 04:25 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2024
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
DSC 1832/PTK5507 - Incorrect Event description to Monitoring Company

I reconfigured a sensor to Zone13 on my DSC PC1832, which was previously assigned to a wireless smoke detector. (see details below). The new sensor is a window contact sensor model 4975. My system is monitored by external alarm company.
Zone 13,
Zone Attributes: 1234-6-8
Zone Type = 3


When I did a test with them, they said the event comes in as "Fire Alarm". They told me the event alarm comes is sent from my system. The sensor seems to be working the way it should, except for the incorrect event description.

What am I doing wrong? Is it incorrect programming? How do I fix this?
(I tried to also configure it on Zone 14 which is currently disabled, but the panel would beep when I tried to enter Zone 14. I did enable it but no dice)

Details on how I programmed the Zone:

ENROLL WIRELESS DEVICE
Press *8 [installer code=xxxx]
Enter 804
enter zone number [eg 11]
enter the serial number
press # to exit

SET ZONE TYPE
*8 [installer code=xxxx]
001 or 002 (zone programming) [001 = Zone 1-8, 002 = Zone 9-16]
Set Zone Type
Press # to exit

CHECK FOR ZONE ATTRIBUTE
*8 [installer code=xxxx]
Enter 100 + Zone# (eg Zone 11 is 111)

CHECK IF ZONE ENABLED
*8 [installer code=xxxx]
Enter 202 or 203 (202 - Zones 1 -8, 203 - Zones 9-16)
Verify which Zones are enabled
Press ### to exit all the way to main menu
 
  #2  
Old 04-15-24, 04:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

This system is not one I'm familiar with in programming but with the systems I install.... I have to tell the central station what the point is and it's function.

Does it indicate a smoke alarm on the keypad ?
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-24, 05:25 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2024
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thx Pete for assisting.

The specific message the alarm company is nowhere to be found. I cannot figure out where it is programmed. One update from earlier, the company receives the alert via cellular monitoring.

Also, I have Envisalink network monitoring on the system, I just went to download the log just now and this is what i see:

Number, Timestamp, Event , Partition
31, April 15 2024 6:25 pm EDT, Living Room Window Alarm, 4

The "Living Room Window Alarm" is what I configured on the Envisalink and I can also configure it on the touchpad.
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-24, 06:46 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 1,231
Received 209 Upvotes on 183 Posts
Unless you are using something like Contact ID as a communications format, the monitoring station also has to define each zone. Check the communication section of your programming.
 
  #5  
Old 04-15-24, 07:02 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2024
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thx. I am also leaning towards the monitoring company configured something somewhere.

Communication section? Is that only visible via DLS 5 software?
I have only been using the touch panel so far for programming. Any pointers how to get there and check?
 

Last edited by sroghen; 04-15-24 at 07:15 PM.
  #6  
Old 04-15-24, 08:17 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 1,231
Received 209 Upvotes on 183 Posts
Looks like it starts at 320. Everything is in the installation manual.
 
  #7  
Old 04-16-24, 02:55 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2024
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thx ThisOldMan - I just looked at the manual and I think that is it.

But gez this is difficult to figure out. I need to change the reporting code on Zone 13 from Fire to Burglary (which is what the other windows are set to)
  • In the manual, i see the Reporting Codes in Table 2 (from Appendix A)
    • Fire is 1A
    • Burglary is 3A
Would love some pointers on how to check the reporting code on a specific Zone and how to change the reporting code on a Zone

Update:
I keep reading the guide...I believe the Section 321 will get me to Reporting Code for Zones 9-16

Update2:
  • I changed Section 321 Zone 13 to 3A (was on 11)
  • I changed Section 325 Zone 13 to 3A (was on 11)
Update 3:
  1. I called the alarm company and another agent ( I spoke to multiple yesterday who said nothing useful) told me whatever I did is irrelevant since they keep their own label of the Zones and what they are associated with. I need to send an email for them to update their records. Needless to say I went ballistic on the agent, although she did not deserve it or maybe she did when she said I was confused.
 

Last edited by sroghen; 04-16-24 at 05:33 AM.
  #8  
Old 04-16-24, 09:13 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 1,231
Received 209 Upvotes on 183 Posts
I moved all my accounts when a monitoring center employee spoke rudely to a customer. I was lucky I only had 50-60 accounts at the time.
 
  #9  
Old 04-16-24, 07:23 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2024
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The worst yesterday when multiple agents told me they need to send someone onsite to fix the event description. That would be billable.
Told them to pound sand and then after I made the changes from my last post, another agent, said that was irrelevant since they have their own labelling. I was like wtf, why would the agents from yesterday not say anything about that. She started making excuses, lost a day of none-sense but at least I learnt how to program the DSC.

Long story short, i sent email. They acknowledged it and I have since done an alarm test and they confirm that it shows properly on their end.
 
  #10  
Old 04-17-24, 09:28 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 1,231
Received 209 Upvotes on 183 Posts
Like I said in Post #4, unless you're using Contact ID (or SIA) communications format (you're using the 4-2 format), they have to define the zone type in their monitoring computer.

When the XL-31 came out not all alarm panel manufacturers saw the advantages of Contact ID. Later Honewell/Pittway/Ademco bought Fire Burglary Instruments along with a bunch of others. As I think about it, the XL-31 may have been discontinued before Contact ID came into use in the late 90s.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: