How to program tamper zone on a DSC system?


  #1  
Old 07-06-24, 05:42 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 15
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How to program tamper zone on a DSC system?

So as the title shows, i kinda need help with programming a tamper zone on a DSC 585 panel with the DSC PC1555RKZ, the zones are:
Z1: Door contact (entry)
Z2 PIR hallway (exit)
Z3 PIR living room (instant)
Z4 Tamper
So, when I violate the zone, is it possible to have a trouble condition? And for the trouble condition to occur, what kinds of attributes do I need to set to the zone?
(Sorry for my bad english)
 
  #2  
Old 07-06-24, 06:11 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 1,262
Received 213 Upvotes on 187 Posts
Either (10) 24-hr Supervisory Buzzer or(28) 24-hr Bell/Buzzer Zone. Attributes? Select the ones to make it work the way you want. Manuals in various languages are available from DSC. Which brings up another point; panels for different markets (like different countries) may have different features and programming.
 
  #3  
Old 07-06-24, 06:15 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 15
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
So for zone 4 i used (10) 24-hr Supervisory,but when i opened my front door (Zone 1 - keypad zone) there was an alarm.
 
  #4  
Old 07-06-24, 06:22 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 1,262
Received 213 Upvotes on 187 Posts
What happenes when you open the tamper zone?
 
  #5  
Old 07-06-24, 06:24 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 15
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Nothing, zone 4 does not light up
 
  #6  
Old 07-06-24, 06:48 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 1,262
Received 213 Upvotes on 187 Posts
What happens when you remove the wire from Z4 on the panel?
 
  #7  
Old 07-06-24, 06:50 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 15
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Nothing.
UPDATE: So when i popped opened the cover of the living room PIR Zone 4 lit up, but when i opened the PIR cover in the hallway, the light turned off, and a trouble occured (*2 Zone 5, which i think is a zone trouble)
 

Last edited by visokovruse; 07-06-24 at 09:09 AM.
  #8  
Old 07-07-24, 04:49 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,629
Received 322 Upvotes on 297 Posts
What actual keystrokes did you use to try to program the zone type? With security systems the steps aren't often what you _think_ they are?
 
  #9  
Old 07-07-24, 04:56 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 15
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
*8 (INSTALLER CODE) 001 8 (which corresponds to zone 4) 10 then # to exit
 
  #10  
Old 07-07-24, 05:20 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,629
Received 322 Upvotes on 297 Posts
For a PC1555 that is _not_ the correct keystrokes to program a zone type.

*8 [installer code] 001 is correct.
What is then displayed is the data for the first digit of zone 1.
You need to then advance to the programming for Zone 4. You do that by pressing any one of the three emergency keys. Each press advances you to the next digit of the segment you are in, or moves to the first digit of the next segment. So to get to the first digit of zone 4 you have to press an emergency key _5_ times.
Then you key in 10 for the new zone type.
Then press # to save the change and exit that programming section. Press # again to exit programming.

Here's the PC1555 installer manual. The how to program steps are on page 12 &13.
https://cms.dsc.com/download2.php?t=1&id=13604
 
  #11  
Old 07-07-24, 05:30 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 15
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The panel is PC585, and the keypad is PC1555RKZ
But I used the guide that MrRonFL gave me, but nothing...
 
  #12  
Old 07-07-24, 05:58 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,629
Received 322 Upvotes on 297 Posts
It helps when I lead with all of the system model info. Here's the specific system PC585 model installer manual: https://cms.dsc.com/download2.php?t=1&id=12934

That said, it's basically the exact same manual with the exact same programming steps.
Sometimes, the easy way to deal with DSC zone programming is to just enter all of the zones, starting from zone 1, and just do all of them. That way you don't have to keep track of what segment of the programming section you are in. You can also use the how to program info to view the settings to verify that what you want programmed is actually in each segment.
 
  #13  
Old 07-07-24, 06:48 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 15
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

So this happened when i programmed zone 4 as supervisory buzzer (10)
(the cover for the pir is open)
 

Last edited by visokovruse; 07-07-24 at 07:03 AM.
  #14  
Old 07-07-24, 07:07 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,629
Received 322 Upvotes on 297 Posts
Does it clear when you enter a code?
"[10] 24 Hour Supervisory Buzzer Zone
If this zone is violated when the system is either armed or disarmed, the panel will immediately latch the keypad buzzer until a valid access code is entered and will immediately communicate to the central station"

I'm kinda trying to figure out exactly what you are trying to do. Are you trying to make a tamper zone for the PIR devices? Are you trying to make a tamper zone for something different? If it's the PIR you are concerned with, we need to know the brand/model of those, because the internal switches on the device may, or may not have cover tamper switches, in addition to the alarm contacts.
 
  #15  
Old 07-07-24, 07:11 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 15
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
When I enter a code, Armed, System, and Z4 stay lit up. The PIR's are DSC LC-100PIR, and the idea is, when I open the PIR cover,a trouble condition should occur.
 
  #16  
Old 07-07-24, 08:10 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,629
Received 322 Upvotes on 297 Posts
Ok, now we are getting somewhere. This PIR model has a specific cover tamper switch connection, as well as the regular alarm & power connections. In
https://cms.dsc.com/download.php?t=1&id=14149

There are basically _2_ ways to do what you want, _and_ have the PIRs still function as regular zones. One requires an extra pair of wires run back to the alarm control from each device (which I doubt you have, nor is it likely practical to retrofit). The other, requires the system to be set to use end-of-line resistors, instead of just NC zones.

Do you have either of those two situations? Bear in mind, for the system to use EOL, _all_ zones need resistors.
 
  #17  
Old 07-07-24, 08:13 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 15
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Well the PIR in the hallway has a 5.6k resistor on NC, that goes on COM between Zone 1 and Zone 2, and on T1 there is also a 5.6k resistor, that goes on COM between Zone 3 and Zone 4. And the one in the living room, just has a 5.6K resistor on NC
 
  #18  
Old 07-07-24, 08:47 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,629
Received 322 Upvotes on 297 Posts
As you describe the wiring, and your described list of zones; your zone wiring doesn't sound quite correct.
You have a 4 zone panel with 1 door contact and two motions, each with a total of3 pairs of wires. 2 power, 2 alarm, and 2 tamper.

Starting with your Hallway PIR - There should be a resistor in _series_ with one of the tamper zone wires and connected to T1, and the other tamper wire should just connect to T2. On the alarm wires the resistor should be in _series_ with the wire connected to COM, and the other wire should connect to NC.

On your Living Room PIR - There should be no resistor on _either_ of the tamper zone wires and they should be connected to T1, and the other tamper wire should just connect to T2. On the alarm wires the resistor should be in _series_ with the wire connected to COM, and the other wire should connect to NC.

Next, we switch to the terminals at the _alarm control_: The _alarm_ wires for the hallway PIR should go on COM and Z2 & the alarm wires for the living room PIR should go to COM and Z3.
For the tamper wires from the two PIR, take _one_ wire from PIR 1 and _one_ wire from PIR 2 and connect them together. Then take the remaining pair of wires from the two devices and put one on COM and the other on Z4.

Then you can program your zones to match desired zone configuration.
These things are really just dumb switches, so you have to create the proper EOL supervised NC circuits for the programming to work the way you are wishing.

Hopefully this makes sense, for you. I can make a diagram, if needed, but you sound like you understand the basics.
 
  #19  
Old 07-07-24, 09:02 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 15
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
A diagram can be helpful, I know the basics, because my father was a security systems installer.
 
  #20  
Old 07-07-24, 02:49 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,629
Received 322 Upvotes on 297 Posts
EDIT: please use NC instead of NO. (These days I mostly work with fire devices which are backward from intrusion...)See if this makes sense. No, the common-zone polarity doesn't matter. It's just a contact closure.
 

Last edited by MrRonFL; 07-07-24 at 03:14 PM. Reason: typo correction
  #21  
Old 07-07-24, 03:03 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 15
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the diagram! I will do it tommorow, since its 1am and im pretty tired. Thanks again!
But 1 more question, how do I exactly connect the T2 terminal from the hallway PIR to the T1 terminal on the living room PIR?
 
  #22  
Old 07-08-24, 03:30 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 15
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

So this happened when I wired everything by your diagram, I even went to section 013 and turned option 2, but still nothing...
EDIT: I used NC, Zone 2, and Zone 3 lights turned off, now when i activate them the lights lit up, so thats good. But i still don't know how to program the tamper zone.
 

Last edited by visokovruse; 07-08-24 at 03:55 AM.
  #23  
Old 07-08-24, 04:03 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,629
Received 322 Upvotes on 297 Posts
Ok...Lets control the variables. First, close all your zones with _just_ end of line resistors; NO field wiring.
The goal, is to get your zone configuration working the way you want it to, without the variable of the field wiring. That way you can test your zones just by taking the resistor loose from the zone terminals without a bunch of running around.

Then, swap in one zone input at a time. I don't know how your wiring looks, or how you are identifying which pair does what. I have a sneaking suspicion that something isn't getting translated into real world wiring.
With the PIR covers on, and no motion, you should see the 5.6K resistor on the two sets of zone wires, and on the combined tamper wiring. If not, there is something incorrect in either wiring, or the actual wires running to the devices. Test it with a ohmmeter.
 
  #24  
Old 07-08-24, 04:11 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 15
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Tamper wiring: 5.6K
Zone 2 and 3 no movement, covers closed, indicates 0
But still I think I made an error while programming zones, so for Zone 4 when i set attribute 10, when I open my front door, there is an alarm.
 

Last edited by visokovruse; 07-08-24 at 05:19 AM.
  #25  
Old 07-08-24, 05:38 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,629
Received 322 Upvotes on 297 Posts
What that means is that your system was NOT set to use EOL. In that case, just take the resistor out of the tamper loop so that all you are left with is 2 NC switches functionally wired in series.

If your system is NOT using EOL, then you would close the inputs with simple wire jumpers instead of resistors, when you are checking your programming. Like I said, control your variables. You are trying to do 2 different things: programming alteration _and_ wiring alteration. Correct the programming before you introduce wiring to the mix.
 
  #26  
Old 07-08-24, 05:57 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 15
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I still think that i messed up the zone programming for Zone 4. I brought the system to factory defaults, and when i popped open the cover of the living room PIR, Zone 4 lit up, but right after programming zone 1,2,3, the light for zone 4 stopped showing.
But thanks for the tip!
 
  #27  
Old 07-08-24, 07:42 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,629
Received 322 Upvotes on 297 Posts
Instead of trying to navigate to the right segments, just program all 4 zones, at once.

*8 [installer code]
001
01 05 04 10 #

That should program the 4 zones to match your zone list.
 
visokovruse voted this post useful.
  #28  
Old 07-08-24, 07:55 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 15
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yup! That did it! Thanks so much for the help!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: