Resume requested w/salary request

Old 01-13-06, 04:27 PM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Resume requested w/salary request

My sister just graduated from college and is looking for a job. She has her resume done and told me a company requested her resume by email as well as how much she wants to get paid. As I am not experienced with this I wasn't sure. She is working part time in for the meanwhile in her degree @ $12/hr. Basically I told her to ask for more than that and what does she want? Also, to check out salary.com as you can get an average amount or so on what people make. I don't know if that site is accurate or not but we use it for work. Anyway, how does one come up with such a figure?

BTW: it's kinda fun going to that site b/c I went on there, typed out my job position and I make twice as much as average so I hope I never get fired!!!

Last edited by DIYaddict; 01-13-06 at 04:28 PM. Reason: incorrect spelling
Old 01-16-06, 05:16 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
This is a tough issue. I tend to throw resumes if the person is seeking considerably more than I am planning to pay. I don't lower the pay if a person lists something lower, but I would bet that a lot of employers would. The best answer is, of course, to answer whatever the employer was expecting to pay and I think your suggestion of the website to try and figure that out was a good place to start.

Old 01-17-06, 02:21 PM
D
I thot about the same thing you said. She was kinda low and I guess that's why they called her right away...kinda sad but you have to start somewhere I guess!

Old 03-03-06, 01:52 PM
_
I would think her advisors at college could give her some kind of an idea of what she could expect. They probably have a good handle on what one could make as a starting salary. She can also look at jobs on those online places that advertise to get an idea there too.

Old 03-03-06, 04:15 PM
T
Salary information