Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Thermoatat reads too high


teksup95's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 97
OH

01-14-05, 10:44 AM   #1  
Thermoatat reads too high

Our thermostat is located on a wall where the hot water pipes running to the upatairs are right behind it. If someone takes a shower, the thermostat will jump up at least 4 to 5 degrees, usually causing the furnace to turn off.

Is there a way to insulate the thermostat from the pipes, so that the only air temp it samples is the air in the room?

Thanks

 
Sponsored Links
resercon's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,873
NJ

01-14-05, 12:05 PM   #2  
Try to insulate the pipes if you can, but you might be better off moving the thermostat.

 
teksup95's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 97
OH

01-14-05, 01:05 PM   #3  
How hard is that to do? Will I have to re-wire the whole thing from the furnace?

 
resercon's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,873
NJ

01-14-05, 05:17 PM   #4  
Moving thermostats is not really that hard to do. The wires are colored and the screws are labeled. Red wire goes to "R" terminal. Just note where the wires go to each terminal. If it is a two wire, there is only a red and white wire and the terminals are labeled "R" and "W". If there are more than two wires, just note the color wire to the terminal it goes to.

Mercury thermostats have to be level. (small glass bubble with silver liquid inside)

Moving the thermostat wire to the wall cavity (stud cavity) next to the existing one should solve your problem.

 
Search this Thread