Swamp Cooler stopped blowing air.

Old 08-03-07, 03:47 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Red face Swamp Cooler stopped blowing air.

My swamp cooler was working fine then we went to turn it on in the morning and we could hear the pump and the pump is pumping water but no air is coming in. We thought the motor went out so we bought a new one, when we went to turn it on it is doing the same thing. The pump comes on but nothing els happens. Can someone please help I can't afford to spend $150.00 on a new motoer that I can't use. Thank you in advance for any help you can provide. I have never used this service before but from what I have read it sounds like someoe out there might be able to help.

Old 08-03-07, 07:37 PM
M
If you changed the motor it sounds like a problem in the switch or the cord between switch and motor. Look for a break in the neutral(white) wire between switch and motor. Since the new motor won't run on low or hi speed ,I think that is the problem. Keep us posted on your progress or lack of it.
Mike

Old 08-03-07, 08:47 PM
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Wink

A meter would help you out here. To see where you have power. Like said can be in the wire or I check the switch If it is for 2 speed. You sure you wired it in right? Did you check the old motor after you took it out??????

Old 08-03-07, 10:10 PM
M
Question Swamp cooler

Mike,

Thank you very much for responding and trying to help us we thought the same thing we checked the cord for any breaks or cracks and could not find any, if you have any othr ideas I would love to hear them. I turned it on and I can hear a humming noise but still no air if that helps. The cage if that is what it is called it turns by hand that is good I think. Thanks again. Willie

Old 08-03-07, 10:17 PM
M
Old Motor