Need help, older Sears Rotobelt unit control switch


  #1  
Old 04-15-19, 07:55 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help, older Sears Rotobelt unit control switch

I have an older Sears Rotobelt roof mount, probably late 70s early 80s. The only problem with it is last night, the plastic shaft for the 7 position rotary switch control snapped off. I can't find a replacement anywhere online. My only option may be to take it apart and replace the actual switch. Any ideas?

Thanks

Name:  ss.jpg
Views: 152
Size:  111.1 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 04-18-19 at 07:57 PM. Reason: resized picture
  #2  
Old 04-15-19, 11:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,135
Received 1,523 Votes on 1,406 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The Rotobelt coolers were manufactured by Essick (champion) cooler group. They list a 6 position switch but not 7. You could check with them directly for help.

essickair.com/champion
 
  #3  
Old 04-18-19, 01:31 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, the 6 position is not the correct one. They've stopped making parts for the rotobelt models.
 
  #4  
Old 04-18-19, 07:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,135
Received 1,523 Votes on 1,406 Posts
When you've given up the search...... take the cardboard off the switch and post a pic or two of it.
We'll find a replacement.
 
  #5  
Old 04-19-19, 02:48 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, that's my plan for this weekend.
 
  #6  
Old 04-20-19, 07:48 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here's the elusive switch
 
Attached Images  
  #7  
Old 04-20-19, 09:14 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,135
Received 1,523 Votes on 1,406 Posts
Unfortunately the numbers on it mean very little. It could be replaced with a generic switch but the quantity of wires on it as well as what function is controlled at each switch position would be needed.

See if there are markings near the terminals.
 
  #8  
Old 04-20-19, 09:16 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've temporary repaired the shaft by welding the broken part back on with a soldering iron, not too optimistic but it's holding for now.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: