Need help, older Sears Rotobelt unit control switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-15-19, 07:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Need help, older Sears Rotobelt unit control switch

I have an older Sears Rotobelt roof mount, probably late 70s early 80s. The only problem with it is last night, the plastic shaft for the 7 position rotary switch control snapped off. I can't find a replacement anywhere online. My only option may be to take it apart and replace the actual switch. Any ideas?

Thanks

Name:  ss.jpg
Views: 21
Size:  111.1 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 04-18-19 at 07:57 PM. Reason: resized picture
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-15-19, 11:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 49,519
Welcome to the forums.

The Rotobelt coolers were manufactured by Essick (champion) cooler group. They list a 6 position switch but not 7. You could check with them directly for help.

essickair.com/champion
 
  #3  
Old 04-18-19, 01:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Thanks, the 6 position is not the correct one. They've stopped making parts for the rotobelt models.
 
  #4  
Old 04-18-19, 07:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 49,519
When you've given up the search...... take the cardboard off the switch and post a pic or two of it.
We'll find a replacement.
 
  #5  
Old 04-19-19, 02:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Thanks, that's my plan for this weekend.
 
  #6  
Old 04-20-19, 07:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Here's the elusive switch
 
Attached Images  
  #7  
Old 04-20-19, 09:14 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 49,519
Unfortunately the numbers on it mean very little. It could be replaced with a generic switch but the quantity of wires on it as well as what function is controlled at each switch position would be needed.

See if there are markings near the terminals.
 
  #8  
Old 04-20-19, 09:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 5
I've temporary repaired the shaft by welding the broken part back on with a soldering iron, not too optimistic but it's holding for now.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes