Evap cooler motor problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-16-20, 12:44 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Evap cooler motor problem

Howdy, I'm new on here. I have an evap cooler the cabinet is about a year old, the motor,1/3 hp, was in the replaced cooler. I put the old motor in the new cabinet, the old motor was at least 12 years old but it worked, in the Az. sun they get a workout. But it worked. Well the old motor finally quit. I decided to upgrade to a 1/2 hp. motor. Well we installed the new DIAL 1/2 hp. motor, checked belt tension, turned it on 30sec. it quits casing is hot. Motor sits cools off starts up again 30sec. repeat. We have adjusted the pulley in 1/2 turn adjustments still repeats. I am trying to determine if the hp is too much for the cooler. Any suggestions will help. I've been doing this kind of stuff fgor a while. 70yo, I am.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-16-20, 01:34 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 22,419
Received 445 Votes on 409 Posts
I'm thinking it's either a totally incorrect motor or there is a mechanical bind somewhere. Maybe the fan bearings have seized.
 
  #3  
Old 05-16-20, 07:20 PM
5
Member
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 52
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Recheck your wiring connections and check that the supplied voltage and the motor voltage match. Remove the belt, run the motor see what happens. It should run longer than 30 seconds or so. Also, as Pilot Dane suggested see if the main blower bearings rotate freely while the belt (and power) are off.
 
  #4  
Old 05-16-20, 07:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,451
Received 762 Votes on 715 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The following link is from Dial on cooler motors. It may be of some help.
Dial cooler motor instructions (pdf)
 
  #5  
Old 05-17-20, 07:50 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: las vegas, nv
Posts: 213
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ive seen plenty of new motors bad right out of the box but as the others said, re check everything else first.
 
  #6  
Old 05-18-20, 09:47 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Update

Thank you to everyone that responded. So replaced motor to original 1/3hp. All bearing surfaces move freely, no binding. Went to wiring..... there's where problem was. Matched all color wires to each other. Motor runs strong, both speeds with pump. Problem now is that the pump does not run independently. I'm going back up to check wiring again. Still not certain where this lead should land. But I am very grateful for the input. This is part on my ongoing education. Thanks again. Just for information, this unit is being used on a 1956 Spartan.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: