Flashing for Fiber Cement Siding

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-16-05, 12:44 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Flashing for Fiber Cement Siding

I'm wondering if I need flashing, or if I do what style, along the bottom of the first row of siding down near the ground. I'm putting a 3.5" skirting board to set my first row of siding on with my starter strip. Do I need to flash this? I know I shouldn't caulk it in case water gets behind it. Or do I just need to put a flat piece behind the skirt board and have it extend above it 3-4 inches behind the siding.

Do I need Z-Flashing or can it just follow the conture of the square skirt board. I'm sensitive as to how it will look, I want a clean appearance.

Also, I would imagine I need the same solution above the 3.5" window trim too.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-17-05, 09:01 PM
roxy05
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I would put something. I just did my house with fibre cement. Around the windows I put 5/4 trim and I followed the instruction manual on the james hardie web site. I put 1 1/4 inch drip edge over the top trim for each window and I have a trim on the bottom (the bottom half of the house is in stucco) where the same thing was done. The idea is to keep the water out from places where there is a ledge that snow or rain could sit on. For the bottom trim in your case you want to keep water from above from going behind, so some sort of drip edge should be used. I think you could put any profile as long as the shape directs water away (if its at a height people can touch, you also want to make sure there are no sharp edges and it is heavy gage). The drip edge I used is painted galvanized steel (apparently aluminum is not compatible with fibre cement). Cheers, R
 
  #3  
Old 08-19-05, 10:05 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the advice. I can't find any 1" reveal flashing so I think I'll bend my own, I have a break. Can galvanized be painted? All I can find in galvanized roll stock that is unprimed/unpainted. If I clean it with TSP I think I can with a good primer.
 
  #4  
Old 08-23-05, 09:30 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I found on the Certainteed site that aluminum flashing is fine to use, so I think I'll go with bending my own aluminum and painting it.

Thanks for the advice . . .
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: