No soffits

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-06-06, 11:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No soffits

I've taken on a siding job on an old garage. Question is, there is no soffits on the front and back, in other words the roof does not overhang. HOw should I finish this? Should I use j-channel or perhaps the around the window type siding? As you can can probably tell I'm new to this and dont know all the terms and whats available. Thanks for the help in advance, I also have pictures if it helps.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-06-06, 05:42 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,783
Received 284 Votes on 260 Posts
Hi sukevin!

Since you have pictures, why don't you post them to a file sharing website like yahoo, then paste the link here. We'll take a look.
 
  #3  
Old 01-09-06, 12:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK, here are two pictures

http://us.f13.yahoofs.com/bc/43c2b40...Z.rwDBmHUk7Jpw
 

Last edited by sukevin; 01-09-06 at 12:40 PM.
  #4  
Old 01-09-06, 12:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United States of America
Posts: 99
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Links don't work for me.
 
  #5  
Old 01-09-06, 12:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Anything happen

The pictures are kinda large, did they links attempt to take you to a new page or what?
 
  #6  
Old 01-09-06, 12:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #7  
Old 01-09-06, 12:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United States of America
Posts: 99
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Server not found













Firefox can't find the server at bcvrf.yahoo.com.








* Check the address for typing errors such as
ww.example.com instead of
www.example.com

* If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
connection.

* If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.
 
  #8  
Old 01-09-06, 12:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
THey work for me using 3 isp's

YOu may have to have a yahoo id. OTherwise, I have no idea. Sorry
 
  #9  
Old 01-09-06, 01:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #10  
Old 01-09-06, 01:56 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,783
Received 284 Votes on 260 Posts
I'd recommend you tear off the old siding, but leave the existing fascia trim boards on. Remove any trim boards that aren't necessary, like your corner trim boards and any other boards they nailed up for no reason. Install j-channels around windows and doors, and use vinyl corner posts on the corners. You would want to rent a metal break and buy some trim coil, then cover any 1x4 trim that you want to keep. There's a good way to bend the fascia cover which can eliminate the need for j-channel in those areas, I'll post a picture of it later.
 
  #11  
Old 01-09-06, 05:54 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,783
Received 284 Votes on 260 Posts
Here's the link to the illustration I promised:

http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/thexsl...nm=3f2dre2.jpg
 
  #12  
Old 01-09-06, 05:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks sleeper

thanks alot
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: