Rookie Puts Up Hardie, Needs Advice!

Old 03-05-08, 10:17 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rookie Puts Up Hardie, Needs Advice!

Hello.

I've been reading this forum for a few weeks gathering whatever info I could on Hardie siding and finally decided to just ask my own questions. Here's my situation:

I have very little carpentry experience (I've put together a deck, installed shelves, all minor stuff) and recently bought a stick frame cabin in my town in AK and the first order of business is to put siding on it because right now it's just plywood. It's off the grid and a 4.5 hour drive from a hardware store, so I have to be well prepared with a proper list when I make my supply run. I decided to use hardie colorplus lap siding.

So, Questions:

1. Can I do this without a nailer? I have a good drill and all the time in the world, so I thought I'd pre-drill all the holes and hammer it up. Keep in mind that the cabin is 2.5 stories and I won't have scaffolding for this job; I'm borrowing a neighbors 32 ft ladder and using Solosiders (an adjustable siding assistant thingy).

2. I've bought a fibercement shear attachment for my drill, but I'm worried about finer cuts (around widows, namely). Do I need a jigsaw to do this job well? Or could I maybe be extra careful and use my reciprocating saw? Or could I cut it with a coping (hand)saw?

3. I'm getting the Hardie delivered from our local Mercantile (b/c he's one of the only guys with a big enough truck), but this is a newish sort of order for them. While the guy is very skilled and careful, I'm worried the 3 hours on a gravel road is going to destroy a lot of the planks. I read on another post about the fact that Hardie deliveries often have many broken. So, should I order much extra? How much?

4. Does Tyvek suck? Should I use roofing felt instead? Or any other suggestions...

And I might add more later. I'm very hungry for any general suggestions you guys might have. Thank you much for your time and knowledge.