Question about installing vinyl on an uneven garage

Old 06-08-08, 05:34 PM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question about installing vinyl on an uneven garage

Hi,
This is my first time installing vinyl siding (Certainteed from Mendards) and I am doing a small, very old garage. There is no sort of backer board under the current siding, it is also the inside wall of the garage. The current siding ends when it meets a flat concrete slab that extends about 10 inches out into the yard. The front of garage is also quite uneven and it drops about 3 inches from the left side to the right. A concern I have is if I start on the right and I install the metal starting strip level 2 inches up from the lowest point - this is what the instructions say- then it will run into the concrete slab. If I start on the left, there will be a few inches of exposed old siding below the starting strip when it gets to the corner and possibly around the other side. I donít think I can remove the concrete and I am wondering what is the best path to take. The other three sides are sloped too, but all are built up a few inches so I donít think clearance would be a big issue. My other concern is that if I do put up siding that is perfectly level it will look crooked in relation to the sofit and window frame lines, because they both follow the slope of the garage. Would it be better to install the siding Ďcrookedí so that it would follow the natural lines of the foundation, windows and sofits?
Thanks for your comments. Here is a pic.
Pat

Sponsored Links
Old 07-06-08, 09:29 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The best way to do this is to get some coil and make your own flashing. what i mean is make a backwards L. on one end make it lets say 2' X 2' the first 2' will go up behind the new siding the other to you make a presser bend to set tight on the brick. Then on the other end make it letís say 6' X 2'.the 6' is behind the new siding and the same thing with the 2'.