Scaffolding for second floor gable end work?

Old 10-24-09, 09:53 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Scaffolding for second floor gable end work?

I'd like to do some awkward but straightforward work on the second floor gable end of my house, which is over another 1st story pitched roof (photo below). I need to add new sheathing and replace the lap cedar siding (there is currently no sheathing under the cedar lap).

As you can see from the photo, there's no way to do this from a ladder. I have no experience with scaffolding, so I have the following questions:

1) Can this be safely accessed with scaffolding?
2) Are there companies who rent and will erect scaffolding for a week or so and take it down?
3) Roughly how much would scaffolding rental/setup cost?
4) Are there other options I'm not seeing?

I've considered a boom on a trailer but I don't think I could get it close enough due to obstructions. The lawn in the left foreground is over the septic drainfield, plus it would be a very long reach from there anyway, as it would be from the back over the screen porch.

Old 10-24-09, 10:05 AM
nap
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
if money is not an object:

Google Image Result for http://www.boom-lifts.com/images/genie-s80_lrg.jpg

they make them 135 feet long so reaching in your situation would not be a problem, just the expense.

How far is it from the furthest point to where you could set a boom lift? and how hiigh is the peak?

It looks like there is a driveway as well. How far from the corner of the house (under the balcony by that outcropping of brick) to that driveway?

what kind of work are you doing? A ladder can be used to reach any point of the gable. In fact, two ladders with ladder jacks and planks would be a relatively cheap set-up. there are ladders that can be used on the slope such as you have or components that can be used to adapt the ladder to the slope.

Old 10-24-09, 10:38 AM
S
Yes there's a circular gravel driveway just to the right of the photo.