Cedar siding over cedar shingles

Old 02-28-11, 10:21 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cedar siding over cedar shingles

I have a cedar siding that is maybe 50-80 years old. It is worn, and black mostly. I am thinking of putting cedar siding over top of it using vertical strapping over the current siding, and the new siding over the strapping. Is there a problem with this, or should I remove the current siding first?

I figured the strapping would allow air flow between the two, and remove any moisture issues.

Thanks,

Fed

Sponsored Links
Old 02-28-11, 12:47 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 167 Votes on 148 Posts
I'm just a painter but I would think it would be better to strip the shingles [address any sheeting issues if there are any] install house wrap and then the new siding. You could also add insulation if needed.

Old 02-28-11, 06:15 PM
Group Moderator
Received 299 Votes on 272 Posts
Yeah, the problem is it builds your siding level way out past any trim on the house. Corner trim, door trim, window trim, etc. Also clearance problems around things that can't be easily removed, like your light meter and conduit/mast, if that's mounted on the house.

Old 03-19-11, 05:41 AM
Received 42 Votes on 37 Posts
Cedar siding is very expencive, will always need maintaince, will turn black over time as you found out, Tends to crack, boring bees just love the stuff.
Now would be the perfect time to change the siding to something else that needs nothing but a pressure washing once in a while.
They sell vinyl siding that looks just like cedar siding.

Old 03-25-11, 06:06 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts