Vinyl cladding over existing wood trim?

Old 07-12-11, 10:53 AM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Vinyl cladding over existing wood trim?

So, the company that installed my new windows a coulpe of years ago called to see if I needed and siding or other work done. As it happens, I do.

I live in a 4-story townhouse, with a large dormer on the front and one on the rear of the 4th floor (master bedroom). The fascia boards and trim around the windows are all starting to peel paint and possibly slightly rot (I have checked around the windows some and all of the wood seems solid, just wet looking in areas of paint peel). This is not something I can easily do myself as it is 35 feet off the ground (straight up in the front!), but they said they could do it and came out last Saturday to give me an estimate.

What they plan on doing is wrapping the existing wood trim and fascia boards in vinyl. I have no experience or knowledge of how this is done. I have done some searching on the internet, but most of the hits seem to be for installing vinyl siding over wood siding, which I think would be slightly different.

Anyway, what are some pros and cons of doing this? Any questions I should ask during the estimate/before deciding on someone? I plan to get at least 2 more contractors out for estimates, but the 1st price wasn't bad (not as bad as I thought it was going to be...).

Any experience/guidance is appreciated.

Thank You,
Neil

Old 07-12-11, 11:10 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
If the wood is rotting, I would replace it, not cover it up.

Old 07-12-11, 11:26 AM
R