fiber cement siding decisions

Old 09-01-11, 03:46 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
fiber cement siding decisions

Hi there, in the process of deciding which fiber cement siding to use on outside of our new addition. Have the Hardieplank and Maxiplank specs, samples and costing....both come primed and I will paint it once its up. Big difference is cost...big advantage to Maxiplank. That being said I have questions on durability in the Canadian seasons. Plus, its a relatively new product available on the Prairies...if you google it there have been issues with wear and fit.

Any experiences to share +, - for each is appreciated. Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Old 09-01-11, 06:52 AM
Group Moderator
Received 54 Votes on 51 Posts
Hardie is the original and it's proven but it's spendy.

Unfortunately, I have no experience with Maxiplank.

Last edited by stickshift; 09-02-11 at 11:34 AM. Reason: typo
Old 09-01-11, 12:34 PM
Group Moderator
Received 243 Votes on 224 Posts
I've used maxiplank a lot and I like it better than JH. With JH you are probably paying for the name. I spoke to a guy who is a factory finisher (he owns the operation) and he prefers Maxi to JH as well. He thinks its a superior product. Right now they have a million ft of it to pre-paint.

Old 09-02-11, 11:34 AM
Group Moderator
Received 54 Votes on 51 Posts
I'm with Sleeper that some of the price of Hardie is the name. His opinion on the Maxi is good enough for me.

Old 09-24-11, 08:20 AM
went with the primed maxiplank - have chosen the finish color, now whats the best paint for coverage and durability - as always thanks

Old 09-24-11, 03:09 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 139 Votes on 124 Posts
To some extent the type and color of the paint will affect coverage. I'd suggest going to your local paint store [not a paint dept] and tell them what you want and then they can suggest their best options.