T-111 Rotten

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-08-12, 04:43 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
T-111 Rotten

My 10' x 12' shed has T-111 and the bottom of it is rotten in spots. I was going to cut out the bad then splice in a new piece, where needed. I wanted opinions on whether to reside with Smart Siding or go to vinyl. Does splicing a new piece on the bottom sound ok? Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-08-12, 05:01 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 25,808
Received 638 Votes on 590 Posts
Splicing is usually a bad idea. IMO, LP Smartside is probably a better option for you than vinyl.
 
  #3  
Old 05-09-12, 03:24 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Although, as XSleeper mentioned, splicing is a bad idea, depending on the height of the rot, you may be able to replace the damaged T1-11, caulking it well as you assemble the joint, THEN apply a trim board which is taller than the seam all around the shed, caulking on the top joint to prevent water infiltration. Now, if you are planning on residing anyway, go with the Smartside. Just seems to look better.
 
  #4  
Old 05-09-12, 04:31 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,502
Received 293 Votes on 260 Posts
If you stick with the T-111, oil prime the bottom edge and a few inches up the back side. That will help prevent the wood from wicking up any moisture - which is the likely cause of the damage in the first place.
 
  #5  
Old 05-12-12, 05:06 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, I was going to splice in a piece THEN reside with Smart Siding. The trim piece around the bottom maybe worth consideration. Thanks for the idea. I've learned the hard way. I won't install any wood siding without oil primer being applied to the bottom end and six inches or so up. I built this shed twenty years ago before I knew better. Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 05-12-12, 09:49 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 25,808
Received 638 Votes on 590 Posts
Oh, well if you are going to install new siding OVER the old, then it really doesn't matter if you have a splice or not... in fact you could install anything in place of the rotton t1-11 as long as it is the same thickness (i.e. plywood).

PVC trim boards (Azek and Versatex are name brands) are really good for use as water table trim, since they will never rot. They are good to use when the siding is really too close to grade.
 
  #7  
Old 05-15-12, 03:59 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Another Question

Thanks for the help. I have to replace 50 ft. of fascia board and I thought I'd ask what's the best way to ensure I keep it straight. I was think of removing all the old except the last 2-4 ft. install the first new board making sure it's level then runing a string along the bottom edge to ensure I keep the new boards straight. What ya think? Thanks.
 
  #8  
Old 05-15-12, 04:05 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,502
Received 293 Votes on 260 Posts
I would think keeping the top even with the edge of the roof would insure a straight fascia. The roof is straight, right?
 
  #9  
Old 05-17-12, 03:24 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pretty much but it's only "3/8 plywood so it has some sag, in spots, but of course not at the rafter tail which would be what counts. Thanks.
 
  #10  
Old 06-13-12, 05:21 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have T-111 with the framing at 24" centers. After I replace the rotten T-111, do you think the "3/8 thick smart siding will do ok when nailing on "24 centers? Thanks.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: