Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Exterior Improvement Center > Exterior Paneling and All Exterior Sidings
Reload this Page >

How High to keep Sheathing off of slab when attaching to Sill for shed.

Old 08-20-13, 02:37 PM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

I am getting ready to start sheathing a shed. the sill is anchored to the slab and I have the feeling the OSB is not supposed to rest directly on the slab when installed. I know I should keep 1/8 inch between panels, but how high sill plate should the bottom of the sheating be?

Old 08-20-13, 03:26 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 359 Votes on 316 Posts
I'm a painter not a carpenter but I've never liked seeing wood siding come all the way down to the slab - it invites moisture damage. Where is the dirt/ground in relationship to the wall? It might be wise to install some sort of flashing to allow you to keep the OSB a little higher. The carpenters should be along shortly with more advice for you.

Old 08-20-13, 03:36 PM
Super Moderator
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
When I built my shed in VA I put the sheathing at the top of the sill plate, 1 1/2" away from the concrete. I was going to use vinyl siding so the starter strip covered the gap. Might have been more than needed, but what did I (do I?) know.

Old 08-20-13, 04:54 PM
Group Moderator
Received 776 Votes on 716 Posts
First, a building generally has a foundation and slab that are several inches above grade. 6" is about perfect. Carpenters will often stick a pair of framing nails under the sill plate, and use that to support the first sheet of sheathing, which, on an 8' wall (with precut studs) is at the proper height to get nailed to both the sill plate and the top plate.